LeVar Burton Explains His Obsession With Becoming Next ‘Jeopardy!’ Host

Even before the late Alex Trebek died, speculation began on who might replace the legendary game-show host who presided over Jeopardy! for 37 seasons from its syndicated revival in 1984, until his death in 2020. And now, LeVar Burton is opening up about why he’s so focused on snagging the late host’s gig.

In a new interview with The New York Times Magazine, Burton tried to explain his obsession.

It’s difficult to explain, but there’s something inside me that says this makes sense. I feel like this is what I’m supposed to do. I have been watching Jeopardy! more or less every night of my life since Art Fleming was host. Jeopardy! is a cultural touchstone, and for a Black man to occupy that podium is significant. Look, I have had a career for the [expletive] ages. Roots, Star Trek, Reading Rainbow. Won a Grammy. Got a shelf full of Emmys. I’m a storyteller, and game shows are tremendous stories. There’s a contest, there’s comedy, there’s drama. If you don’t know your [expletive] on Jeopardy! you’re sunk in full view of the entire nation. The stakes are high. I love that.”

LeVar Burton was actually one of the first to express his desire for the job. As Burton told the ladies on The View in April: “For a long time, 2013 I tweeted for the first time how much I would love to have that job when Alex retired.”

Throughout the spring, he backed an online petition, and he was RT’ing every supportive Tweet about it. The actor, winner of 13 Emmy Awards, a Grammy Award and a Peabody, is well known to multiple generations of TV viewers as Kunta Kinte in the groundbreaking 1977 TV miniseries, Roots; or as Lt. Cmdr. Geordi La Forge on Star Trek: The Next Generation (1987-1994); and/or as host of PBS children’s educational series Reading Rainbow (1983-2006).

The interview in the NY Times also allowed Burton to reflect on the nature and responsibilities of living as a celebrity today, living with fans who have inextricably linked him to one of his iconic TV characters, as well as lessons he learned from his friendship with Fred Rogers, aka Mr. Rogers.

But what if he doesn’t win the Jeopardy! job? Burton told the Times: “It will hurt. I’m not going to lie. But if that happens, I will get over it. I will be fine. Remember: Everything happens perfectly and for a reason. That is my default. It’s all going to be OK. Because it always is.”

Burton gets his chance as Jeopardy! host at the end of July, taping episodes that’ll air July 26-30, 2021, in between guest-hosting stints by ABC’s Good Morning America co-anchor Robin Roberts and former CNBC host David Faber.

See the full summer schedule for Jeopardy! here.

Where to watch Jeopardy!