‘Police Academy’ Legend Michael Winslow Auditions for ‘America’s Got Talent’: “I Still Have Some Sounds to Make”

After stepping away for the spotlight decades ago, actor Michael Winslow returned last night, making his debut on the America’s Got Talent stage as one of the more famous acts to ever try out for the show. The Police Academy and Spaceballs star performed his quirky “voicetramentalist” talents for judges Howie Mandel, Simon Cowell, Heidi Klum and Sofia Vergara, showing off his uncanny ability to transform his voice into just about any sound.

Before his audition, Winslow — who was dubbed a “legend” by host Terry Crews — explained why he left the industry in the ’90s and why he’s making his comeback now, years later. Thanks to his son, he said, he was inspired to audition for AGT.

“I ended up doing pretty well. But I stopped making movies because I quit the business for my children. I had to raise them because I became a widower. Now, after raising my two kids, I’m in a different phase. I think this is my time,” Winslow explained on last night’s episode, per People. “And America’s Got Talent is the place for me to show the world I still have something to offer, I still have some sounds to make. There’s still room for a little more.”

When Winslow stepped onto the stage, Cowell, who is notoriously difficult to impress, couldn’t hide his excitement. “We know you!” he said. “I cannot tell you how thrilled I am that you are here.” Mandel praised Winslow as “a trailblazer,” adding, “Thank you so much for being here.”

During the Police Academy star’s performance, he introduced himself as “The Man of 10,000 Sound Effects,” joking that “we’re in the hundreds of thousands now,” before showing off his talents. Ahead of his comedy set, Winslow told the audience making noises was something he had always done since childhood, when he was an “Air Force brat” who had to make his own friends.

He then launched into his impressive routine, imitating everything from an airplane to a radio. His performance paid off, earning Winslow four yes votes from the judges and moving him onto the next round. “I always say the best races I love watching, because I love motor-racing, is sometimes all the big champions come back and they battle with the rookies. And that makes it a proper competition,” Cowell said. “So, the fact that you’ve come and you’ve set a standard here is just so thrilling for me. I’m absolutely ecstatic. That’s how you do it.”

America’s Got Talent airs Tuesdays at 8/7 on NBC. Watch Winslow’s full performance in the video above.

Where to watch America's Got Talent 

Where to watch Police Academy