‘Below Deck Med’ Recap: Did Chef Mathew Really Just Quit AGAIN?

Welcome to the most chaotic episode in the history of Below Deck Mediterranean! And to think, Captain Sandy snoozed through it all. There were a whole lot of hot tub hijinks, including second stew Lexi Wilson yelling at….every single member of the crew and then even getting physical with sweet deckhand Mzi, but amongst all that, it appears Chef Mathew Shea has left the boat again.

When I spoke to Mathew earlier this month, I got his take on what transpired, starting with his tantrum earlier in the day over having to cook the crew’s food. “From my understanding at that point, I was under the impression that during the drop-off phase, I didn’t do crew lunch and we got takeout,” he said. “I was just overtired and I’m dramatic,” he admitted. “Sometimes I can be a bit of a baby, I threw a big fit instead of just putting together a simple lunch, so I regret that.”

Not that the regrets stopped there for him though, as we discussed the big blow-up at the dinner table during the crew night out. Mathew said, “I hadn’t eaten and hadn’t slept, and then went out for crew dinner and I carried on that anger. [Then I] started drinking, so anything else that happens at that dinner and me leaving, I don’t really remember, honestly. I woke up in the morning full of regrets and just wishing I hadn’t done it.”

And when he watched the episode, he said, “I was cringing. I’m so inappropriate sometimes. I’m very self-aware and I only blamed myself for what I did. I regretted it, I hope that I can be given another chance. But I understood it was all my fault and I have no one to blame but myself.”

As for his fellow crew members, well they had a lot going through their minds as well. Deckhand David Pascoe told me he was thinking, “It’s to not have to go through this again. Especially for the first charter, for it to be like that. To have a follow-up, the same situation is not a game I want to play. Plus, I’m rooming with Mat, so if I lose Mat, who am I going to be with? The next chef could be anything, anyone.”

Plus, he also had to worry about the fact that he might be responsible for killing another lobster. “That’s the problem, if I had to step up, I am not going to kill another lobster,” he said. “But if someone’s like, can you do the lobsters? In hindsight, I think this time round would just be straight to the pot,” he laughed.

For her part, third stew Courtney Veale told me, “We got on from the start, but our relationship definitely progressed. We actually relied on each other to keep the positive vibes up and stuff. But then as soon as he has a drink, sometimes he gets a bit nasty. And obviously, he and Lexi [were] clashing at the highest at this point. Sometimes I feel like if he feels a bit left out or doesn’t feel part of the crew, then he gets a bit standoffish and a bit argumentative and defensive, in a way. And I mean, this is all going off my tequila memory. It all happened very quickly that night, we’re all at the meal having a nice time. There’s lots of banter getting thrown around, I literally go to the bathroom and then when I come back, it’s like 10 minutes later, and I’m like, Wait, where’s Mat? and he’s gone. Everyone’s like, Oh, yeah he left in a mood. It’s not until the next morning that we’re like, oh. When David goes to bed, he’s like, Mat’s not here, his bags are gone. Obviously, we’re all wasted so everyone doesn’t really know how to feel. But I was kind of shocked and kinda wasn’t shocked. There was just so much going on at that point that I didn’t really know. If he didn’t want to be there then I didn’t want him to be there. I always think if a crew member is over it and wants to leave, then leave. But it was definitely frustrating and it was a bit sad. I was really sad when I found out that he quit again because I knew that I would miss him onboard for sure. As crazy as he is, he’s definitely a good personality to bring positive vibes.”

Below Deck Mediterranean airs on Monday at 9 pm ET/PT on Bravo, with episodes dropping one week early on Peacock.

Stream Below Deck Mediterranean on Peacock and Bravo Now