Will There Be a ‘Schmigadoon!’ Season 2 on Apple TV+?

Where to Stream:

Schmigadoon!

Powered by Reelgood

Apple TV+‘s Schmigadoon! comes to an end today. The sunshine-y sweet musical comedy took us into the wacky world of Schmigadoon, a magical town where everyone behaves as if stuck in a classic Broadway musical. Over the course of Schmigadoon!‘s six episode-run, we watched lovebirds Josh (Keegan-Michael Key) and Melissa (Cecily Strong) fall out of love with each other (and then back in it), a closeted mayor’s coming out, and a number of show-stopping musical numbers.

But was that it? Is Schmigadoon! really over? Or will there be a Schmigadoon! Season 2 on Apple TV+?

Here’s everything you need to know about Schmigadoon! Season 2, from when Season 2 would premiere to which stars are already 100% on board with whatever co-creator and writer Cinco Paul wants to do…

Will There Be a Schmigadoon! Season 2 on Apple TV+?

We don’t know yet! Apple TV+ usually greenlights series for two seasons right off the bat, but there hasn’t been any news regarding Schmigadoon! Add the fact that the six-episode season basically wraps up the drama at the end, and it’s unclear what would come next.

Except Decider knows that Schmigadoon! co-creator Cinco Paul does have a plan for Season 2.

“From the beginning, I have conceived of it as more than just one [season],” Paul told Decider. “I can’t really talk about what that is but I definitely have an idea and plan. And it’s kind of hinted at, at the end of this season.”

Paul said, “But we’ll see if we get a chance to do that, but hopefully we will. I know everybody in the cast just had the best time doing this show and would love to all come back. So that’s all I can say about that.”

Two people already down for Schmigadoon! Season 2? Stars Keegan-Michael Key and Cecily Strong, the former of whom confirmed that Paul’s big idea involves the return of their characters.

“I’m in, I’m in, I’m in, I’m in and I’m in,” Key said, when asked if he would be down for Schmigadoon! Season 2. “[Paul] has told me a little bit about the idea a little bit. The only thing I’ll share with you is that Josh and Melissa are in it. That’s all I can say, Josh and Melissa are in it. So yes, If he was going to ask me to come back, I would definitely come back.”

Strong was slightly more tight-lipped, but also eager for more. “I mean, I’m kind of…I will see them wherever Cinco sees them. I’m so fully on Cinco’s train. It’s like, ‘Wherever you want to take us, I’ll go, just let me know when and I’ll be there,'” Strong said.

One person slightly on the fence about a return? Schmigadoon! Season 1 director Barry Sonnenfeld. Slightly. “I loved the experience, I loved all the actors and if I’m available, of course. Hopefully I’ll be in the middle of a giant movie and not be available because I want to keep working,” Sonnenfeld said. “But yeah, so how could you not want to do another version of this again? Of course.”

When Will Schmigadoon! Season 2 Premiere on Apple TV+?

Supposing Apple TV+ does order Schmigadoon! Season 2, and guessing that Cinco Paul and the other writers already have an idea locked down… Schmigadoon! Season 2 could premiere as soon as early Summer 2022. That’s based on the fact that Season 1 went into production in the Fall of 2020 and landed on our screens this past July.

Where to stream Schmigadoon!