Frank Grillo Roasts the Final Cut of His New Film ‘Copshop’ as Fans Speculate About Offscreen Beef

Star Frank Grillo is unhappy with the final cut of his new thriller film Copshop, and recently took to Instagram to voice his concerns. Grillo alleged that the final cut of the movie didn’t do his and director creator Joe Carnahan’s creative vision justice. And while he didn’t state outright who he holds responsible for these changes, fans have been speculating.

On Sept. 16, Grillo shared an Instagram post detailing his issues with Copshop.

“Although I support all films me and my partner @carnojoe make, I’m not very pleased w how my performance was cut,” he wrote. “Without detail I’ll say I gave a much more 3-dimensional take, that was very colorful and very well planned out. Needless to say that’s not what ended up in the film.”

Grillo added that as a result he’s getting a “bit beat up by critics,” which made him “f*cking mad.”

“I will say this… The cut my boy, brother, and partner @carnojoe made had my performance intact. Unfortunately, our cut was passed over for this cut,” he continued. “Copshop is a good movie, and I’m very proud of what we did. But the day I take the brunt for someone else’s bullsh*t will be the day I quit acting.”

“I love what I do and put my soul into every role,” Grillo concluded. “So when I read critics go at me for a character that was castrated by someone other than my director I take great offense.”

The actor didn’t specify who was supposedly responsible for the final cut of Copshop, but some viewers have theorized that the duo have behind-the-scenes issues with the film’s other star, Gerard Butler.

In a recent Instagram post, Carnahan shared a video thanking everyone who helped him make Copshop amid the Covid-19 pandemic. Although he thanked many people, from Grillo and other cast members to his stunt coordinator, production designer, and costume designer, he omitted Butler’s name.

“So Butler had them cut out any superior performances by Grillo?” one Twitter user wrote.

“[Carnahan] didn’t thank Butler? Woof! I wonder what the tea was like,” another noted. “Knowing how candid Joe Carnahan and Frank Grillo can get, I’m sure they’ll spill once the movie comes and goes in theaters.”

Copshop is in theaters today.