Jojo Siwa Takes First Place With Historic ‘Dancing With the Stars’ Pairing: “I’m Really, Really Proud”

Jojo Siwa just made history as the first Dancing With the Stars contestant with a same-sex dance partner (Jenna Johnson), and the duo rose to the top of the pack during Monday’s premiere with a high-scoring fox trot.

“This is a whole new ball game for me. I’ve never done anything ballroom before,” the Dance Moms alum admitted in a video package before her first performance. “It’s a learning experience that I’m more than ready for.”

Speaking about her historic dance pairing, Siwa said before the performance: “For the first time in Dancing with the Stars history, I am dancing with another female, and I’m really, really proud. I came out in early 2021 and what I love to do is make truly being who you are easier for kids.”

For their first performance, the pair performed to “Are You Gonna Be My Girl” in bright, matching outfits. Although Johnson slipped during one tense moment, Siwa managed to pull her back to her feet and wrap up the routine, which earned them the highest score of the night with 29 out of 40 points.

“This was the groundbreaking moment we’ve been waiting for,” said judge Bruno Tonioli. “I’m so high.”

In August, Siwa was the first of two contestants announced for Season 30, alongside Olympic gymnast Suni Lee.

“I get to share with the world that you love who you want to love …and that you get to dance with who you want to dance with,” Siwa said during a TCA panel announcing her historic dance partnership. “When you’re little, you know. You know if you’re gay… Me partnering with another female on the show makes the sense of… It’s okay… It’s normal to be with anyone, a human.”

Dancing with the Stars returns to ABC on Sept. 20 at 8 p.m. ET, airing Monday nights at the same time through the fall. New episodes can be viewed the next day on demand and on Hulu.

Where to watch Dancing with the Stars