Britney Spears Slams New Conservatorship Documentary: “A Lot of What You Heard Is Not True”

Britney Spears is setting the record straight. On Monday, the singer shared a now-deleted message to her Instagram account saying that much of what was said in a new documentary about her conservatorship was untrue.

“It’s really crazy guys … I watched a little bit of the last documentary and I hate to inform you but a lot of what you heard is not true !!! I really try to disassociate myself from the drama,” she began.

While Spears didn’t explicitly confirm which documentary about herself she watched, she’s likely referring to the New York Times Presents franchise’s Framing Britney Spears follow-up Controlling Britney Spears, which premiered last Friday (September 24) on FX and Hulu. Controlling Britney Spears features new allegations from insiders with an intimate knowledge of the star’s daily life under her conservatorship.

In her post, Spears named three issues she had with the documentary: “Number one … that’s the past !!! Number two … can the dialogue get any classier… Number three … wow they used the most beautiful footage of me in the world !!! What can I say .. the EFFORT on their part.”

The “Toxic” singer previously called out Framing Britney Spears after its February release.

“I didn’t watch the documentary but from what I did see of it I was embarrassed by the light they put me in,” she wrote on Instagram at the time. “I cried for two weeks and well …. I still cry sometimes !!!!”

Spears’ latest statement came just a day before Netflix’s own documentary, Britney vs. Spears, premiered on the streamer. September 29 will mark the next hearing in her conservatorship case. The judge is expected to hear the singer’s request to remove her father, Jamie Spears, from the conservatorship, as well as her father’s petition to terminate the conservatorship.

Where to watch Controlling Britney Spears