Ed Sheeran Tests Positive for COVID-19 Ahead of ‘Saturday Night Live’ Appearance

Ed Sheeran and Saturday Night Live are facing a change of plans. Just a day after the NBC comedy series announced that Sheeran would appear as musical guest alongside first-time host Kieran Culkin on Nov. 6, the singer-songwriter revealed he’s been diagnosed with COVID-19.

“Hey guys. Quick note to tell you that I’ve sadly tested positive for Covid, so I’m now self-isolating and following government guidelines,” Sheeran wrote on Instagram on Sunday. “It means that I’m now unable to plough ahead with any in person commitments for now, so I’ll be doing as many of my planned interviews/performances I can from my house. Apologies to anyone I’ve let down. Be safe everyone. x”

Neither Sheeran nor SNL has released further statements about his upcoming appearance on the show. However, Page Six reports that the show’s producers are “scrambling” to find a replacement that appeals to the same demo. According to an anonymous insider, Sheeran has offered to perform live via video link, “but this isn’t something SNL does.”

The singer previously graced the Studio 8H stage in 2014 and 2017. His COVID-19 diagnosis comes less than a week before the release of his fourth studio album, = (pronounced Equals).

In the meantime, his episodes as mega mentor on The Voice are set to begin airing Monday, Oct. 25, on NBC alongside celebrity coaches Kelly Clarkson, Ariana Grande, John Legend, and Blake Shelton.

Where to watch Saturday Night Live