‘Squid Game’ Creator Disses LeBron James After He Criticizes the Show’s Ending: “Have You Seen ‘Space Jam 2?'”

Squid Game creator, writer, and director Hwang Dong-hyuk made a dig at NBA star LeBron James‘ largely maligned film Space Jam: A New Legacy after the athlete publicly criticized the Netflix show’s ending.

In an exchange with his Lakers teammate that was recorded by an Orange County Register reporter last month, James remarked that he had finished Squid Game but hated the Korean drama’s final scene (in which protagonist Seong Gi-hun decides to seek revenge against the organizers of the show’s deadly central competition instead of visiting his daughter in the U.S.)

“I didn’t like the ending, though. What are you doing?” James says. “Get on the flight and see your fucking daughter.”

When The Guardian asked Hwang about the basketball star’s comments in a new interview, he giggled and responded with a rhetorical question: “Have you seen Space Jam 2?”

“LeBron James is cool and can say what he wants. I respect that. I’m very thankful he watched the whole series. But I wouldn’t change the ending. That’s my ending,” the showrunner continued. “If he has his own ending that would satisfy him, maybe he could make his own sequel. I’ll check it out and maybe send him a message saying, ‘I liked your whole show, except the ending.'”

James responded to Hwang’s comments in a tweet of his own, writing “This can’t be real right??!! I hope not,” followed by 10 laughing emojis.

Squid Game became an unexpected international phenomenon after it premiered on Netflix last month, becoming the most successful show in the streamer’s history. But as popular as the series is, Season 2 isn’t a given. In an interview with Variety, Hwang admitted that he doesn’t currently have well-developed plans for a new season.

“It is quite tiring just thinking about it,” he said. “But if I were to do it, I would certainly not do it alone. I’d consider using a writers’ room and would want multiple experienced directors.”

Squid Game is now streaming on Netflix.

Where to watch Squid Game

Where to watch Space Jam: A New Legacy