‘The View’: Ricki Lake Dons Original ‘Hairspray’ Dress For First Time in 34 Years

Surprise! On today’s episode of The View , guest Ricki Lake donned a dress from John WatersHairspray for the first time since filming the iconic movie in 1987.

“This dress, you guys, has been in a bag for 34 years. This is my original dress that I model, I wear it in the Hefty Hideaway [commercial],” she told the ABC talk show’s hosts during their annual Halloween special. Lake wore a black-and-white dress and sported a high, coiffed hairstyle that was reminiscent of her character Tracy Turnblad.

According to the actress, the dress was the only costume she was able to take from the set of Hairspray, which she looks back on fondly.

“It changed my entire life, it opened every day for me. John Waters also mentored me in a way [that] I think I stayed pretty humble and grounded these years,” Lake said. “It was weird seeing the [later] iterations, you know, the musical, and someone else playing my role. But I’m honored. [Tracy is] such a quintessential role model for the underdog.”

Lake also gave a shout out to her co star, LGBTQ+ icon Divine, who played her mother, Edna Turnblad.

“He taught me to walk in high heels, absolutely!” she added. “You look at RuPaul and RuPaul’s Drag Race, that’s all derivative of Divine, and I’m so lucky I had my start with him.”

She also promoted her upcoming documentary The Business of Birth Control, which explores how hormonal contraception has been politicized and debunks popular myths surrounding reproductive healthcare.

“This is about options. This is about access, and education women, empowering them with the information,” Lane said. “There’s more to consider than five minutes with your care provider about birth control. There’s more to know.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c. Scroll up to watch a clip from today’s episode.

Where to watch The View

Where to watch Hairspray (1988)