Will Smith Reveals He Once “Considered Suicide” in Trailer for YouTube Docuseries

Will Smith recently released the trailer for his upcoming YouTube wellness docuseries, Will Smith: The Best Shape of My Life. As he works to improve his mental and physical health in the preview, he reveals that he once “considered suicide.”

As the trailer notes, Smith went into this project with physical health in mind — more specifically, he wanted to lose 20 pounds in 20 weeks. “I thought I was getting into the best shape of my life. But mentally, I was somewhere else,” he admits. “And I ended up discovering a whole lot of hidden things about myself.”

In voiceover, the King Richard actor adds that working on his upcoming memoir Will (out Nov. 9) brought up plenty of things from his life that even he hasn’t dealt with over the years. The trailer then cuts to a clip of Smith seated at a table with his family, saying, “That was the only time in my life that I ever considered suicide.” The context behind this moment is currently unknown.

“What you’ve come to understand as Will Smith, the alien-annihilating MC, bigger-than-life movie star, is largely a construction, a carefully crafted and honed character designed to hide myself from the world,” he adds.

Will Smith: The Best Shape of My Life premieres Nov. 8 on YouTube Originals. Scroll up to watch the official trailer now.

If you or someone you know needs help, call 1-800-273-8255 for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. You can also text HOME to 741-741 for free, 24-hour support from the Crisis Text Line. Outside of the U.S., please visit the International Association for Suicide Prevention for a database of resources.

Where to watch Will Smith: The Best Shape of My Life