Fez Was Almost Killed Off in Season 1 of ‘Euphoria’

Fez’s iconic new episode of Euphoria nearly didn’t happen, Angus Cloud has revealed. His fate could’ve been so much worse! In an interview with GQ published yesterday (Jan. 10), the actor shared that creator Sam Levinson initially planned to kill off the lovable drug dealer in the first season. Luckily, he changed his mind after watching Cloud perform in the role.

“I don’t know, but apparently, because they cast me off the street, I guess the character of Fezco was [never meant to stick around],” he explained. “I don’t even know how. I never saw that script. No one ever told me.”

Cloud only learned of Fez’s fate thanks to co-star Jacob Elordi, who informed him while the pair worked on production for the pilot episode.

“It was one day when we were filming the pilot that I think Jacob told me, he was like, ‘Oh yeah, you didn’t know? Your character gets [imitates brains getting blown out],'” Cloud said.

Cloud doesn’t know how his death scene was supposed to go down, but he thinks Sam “liked what I did” and ultimately decided to make Fez a recurring member of the cast instead. Now, with the Season 2 release, Fez has become a fixture in the hit HBO teen drama.

The first episode of Season 2 featured one of Euphoria‘s classic throwback cold opens, and this time, Fez was in the limelight. Cloud reveled in the experience: “I was super juiced up. Reading that script, I was fired up for sure.”

But — spoiler alert — in the scene at the very end of the episode, Cloud wasn’t too pumped about having to bash Elordi’s head in. It was a tricky action sequence to shoot.

“It was a hard scene to shoot, man. A lot of broken bottles and a lot of different movements,” he said. “I was swinging my fist for like three hours. My arm was sore as s–t, man. I swear to God, my whole shoulder, just from swinging fake air punches that weren’t even hitting anything.”

Before leaving viewers in waiting for Episode 2, Cloud teased a bit on Fez’s future in the show, sharing that viewers will see his “innocence.” Could that be in reference to his new flame with Lexi (Maude Apatow)?

“I’m excited for y’all to see how he kind of comes out of his hard shell a little bit and he kind of exposes his softer side,” Cloud said. “He might be a year older, but he had to act like an adult from such a young age. his inner kid is still in there and you get to see it come out slightly.”

Euphoria airs Sunday on HBO and HBO Max at 9 p.m. ET.

Where to watch Euphoria