‘Yellowjackets’ Star Melanie Lynskey Takes On Body-Shaming Trolls: “Skinny Does Not Always Equal Healthy”

Yellowjackets star Melanie Lynskey has some words for social media trolls who have body shamed her amid the Showtime series’ growing popularity.

The actress recently quote-tweeted body positive influencer Ashley C. Ford’s now-deleted tweet criticizing people who comment on others’ bodies, under the guise of caring about their health.

“The story of my life since Yellowjackets premiered,” Lynskey wrote. “Most egregious are the ‘I care about her health!’ people…bitch you don’t see me on my Peleton! You don’t see me running through the park with my child. Skinny does not always equal healthy.”

In a Rolling Stone interview, Lynskey previously revealed that she also allegedly faced body shaming behind the scenes of Yellowjackets, when a member of the production team criticized her during filming.

“They were asking me, ‘What do you plan to do? I’m sure the producers will get you a trainer. They’d love to help you with this,'” she remembered. Co-stars Tawny Cypress, Christina Ricci, and Juliette Lewis came to her defense, with Lewis writing a letter to the show’s producers.

Lynskey added that it was “really important to me for [her character, Shauna] to not ever comment on my body, to not have me putting on a dress on and being like, ‘I wish I looked a bit better.'”

“I did find it important that this character is just comfortable and sexual and not thinking or talking about it,” she said. “Because I want women to be able to watch it and be like, ‘Wow, she looks like me and nobody’s saying she’s the fat one.’ That representation is important.”

Where to watch Yellowjackets