‘Yellowstone’ Actor Forrie J. Smith To Skip SAG Awards Due to COVID Rules: “I Will Not Get Vaccinated”

Yellowstone actor Forrie J. Smith (aka ranch hand Lloyd Pierce) will not attend this year’s Screen Actors Guild Awards due to the requirement that all attendees to be vaccinated against COVID-19.

“I want to apologize to y’all for not being at the Screen Actors Guild Awards,” Smith said in an Instagram video (per Variety). “I mean no offense to anyone. I’m not vaccinated, and it’s a requirement to be vaccinated.”

He continued: “I’m not vaccinated. I will not get vaccinated. I haven’t been vaccinated since I was a little kid. I don’t vaccinate my dogs, I don’t vaccinate my horses. I’ve never had a flu shot. I never will. I believe they compromise your immunities… It’s just my beliefs. I just don’t believe in that stuff. Whatever.”

However, Smith added that he wishes he could be wearing a cowboy hat and boots on the SAG Awards red carpet to represent “my culture and heritage.”

The actor was nominated alongside his Yellowstone costars in the ensemble in a television drama category, marking the hit Paramount Network series’ first major awards nomination.

Other cast members listed as nominees for the show include Kelsey Asbille, Wes Bentley, Ryan Bingham, Gil Birmingham, Ian Bohen, Eden Brolin, Kevin Costner, Hugh Dillon, Luke Grimes, Hassie Harrison, Cole Hauser, Jen Landon, Finn Little, Breckon Merrill, Will Patton, Piper Perabo, Kelly Reilly, Denim Richards, Taylor Sheridan, and Jefferson White.

SAG Award winners will be announced on Feb. 27.