Halyna Hutchins’ Husband Blames Alec Baldwin For ‘Rust’ Shooting In First Sit Down Interview: “I Was Just So Angry”

In his first sit down TV interview, Halyna Hutchins‘ husband has placed the majority of the blame for her tragic death during the shooting of Rust on Alec Baldwin. Further, Matt Hutchins says he was “angry” as he watched Baldwin’s recent TV interview, primarily upset by how public her death had become.

In the newly released clip by Today, Hutchins opens up about the incident with Hoda Kotb. “Watching him, I just felt so angry,” he says. “I was just so angry to see him talk about her death so publicly in such a detailed way. And then, to not accept any responsibility, after having just described killing her.”

“Do you think that the majority of the blame lays on Alec Baldwin?” Kotb poses.

Baldwin fatally shot Halyna Hutchins last October in a tragic prop gun accident, also injuring Rust director Joel Souza. While no one has been cleared of charges yet, Baldwin did open up about the shooting in a 20/20 special titled Alec Baldwin: Unscripted.

“The idea that the person holding the gun, causing it to discharge, is not responsible is absurd to me,” Hutchins continues. “But gun safety was not the only problem on that set. There were a number of industry standards that were not practiced, and multiple responsible parties.”

Matt Hutchins has recently filed a wrongful death civil lawsuit against Baldwin and others associated with Rust as the criminal investigation into the cinematographer’s death by authorities remains ongoing.

“She’s next to the camera. The camera is here. She’s guiding me through how she wants me to hold the angle. I draw the gun out – the gun wasn’t meant to be fired in that angle,” Baldwin explained of the incident in his separate TV interview. “I’m not shooting to camera lens. I’m holding the gun where she told me to hold it, which turned out to be below her armpit. But we kept doing this…. I start to cock the gun. She said, just ‘cheat it down, could you see that, could you see that.’ I let go of the hammer of the gun, the gun goes off.”

Matt Hutchins interview with Kotb will air on The Today Show tomorrow (Feb. 24) morning.