‘Better Call Saul’s Bob Odenkirk Opens Up About Heart Attack On ‘The View’: “I Don’t Know If I Saw A Light”

Bob is back! Ahead of Better Call Saul‘s return, star Bob Odenkirk appeared on The View and opened up about the heart attack he suffered while filming the AMC show’s sixth and final season. Last July, the actor collapsed on set of the Breaking Bad prequel as production was underway in Albuquerque, Mexico.

As Odenkirk explained to The View’s hosts, a piece of plaque broke off and clogged one of his arteries. Luckily, the health officer was able to administer a defibrillator, saving his life.

As the actor put it: “I took three jolts.”

Odenkirk admitted that he doesn’t remember anything from the two weeks following his heart attack, which is common for patients dealing with heart-related emergencies.

“I just didn’t make memories,” he said. ” I feel like I kinda missed out! I don’t know if I saw a light, because I don’t remember any of it.”

Moderator Whoopi Goldberg joked: “If you’d remembered it, you would’ve gone!”

Luckily, Odenkirk recovered, and he was able to resume filming Better Call Saul six weeks later.

“Everyone around me was traumatized by being there and seeing it, and here I am, like, ‘Let’s go to work! Come on! What’s wrong?'” he added.

Odenkirk also gave a shout-out to everyone who wished him well in his recovery, calling his widespread fan support “a wonderful thing.”

“The amazing outpouring towards me on social media, I do not deserve,” he said. “But it was really beautiful… I wish everyone could feel that.”

Better Call Saul Season 6 premieres with two back-to-back episodes on April 18 at 9/8c on AMC and AMC+. The View airs weekdays at 11/10c.

Where to watch The View