‘Love Is Blind’s Shake Is In Damage Control Mode, Finally Apologizes To Deepti

Love Is Blind‘s Abishek “Shake” Chatterjee isn’t shy with his opinions and, up until now, he hasn’t seemed to care whose feelings he might hurt. But he’s finally owning up for all the rude, negative comments he made about ex-fiancee Deepti Vempati while the two were on the show. The pair seemed to find a connection, but throughout the season, Shake told anyone who would listen how unattracted he was to her. Deepti, aware of his feelings, went as far as donning a wedding dress the day of their wedding ceremony, but told him at the altar that she couldn’t marry him. In response to being jilted, an unperturbed Shake said, “It’ll be fine. Honestly, right now I’m excited to just get back in the normal swing of things. I wanna get back into my fitness routine. And I have reservations at Nobu on Sunday.”

While most of us watched this season of Love Is Blind knowing Shake was a deeply flawed man, this was the moment when we realized it went deeper than just character flaws. And up until now, Shake has refused to apologize to Deepti for the hurtful things he’s said. But in an Instagram video, he finally managed to find some words that a decent, (or at least damage-control-seeking) human would say.

“I wanted to take this opportunity to really just say sorry to a woman that I know I hurt. Deepti, I am truly sorry for some of the things that I said. Things that honestly just could have been left unsaid or could have been said differently. Things that never should have been on national television. And during the time that we were filming, you were my best friend. And even though I knew our relationship wasn’t gonna end in marriage, I didn’t want what we had to end, either. I loved every second of it. And I’m so so sorry that I hurt you with my words. As the last thing I wanted from all this. I’m sorry,” he said.

Shake also managed to alienate hosts Nick and Vanessa Lachey in his time on the show. It’s not usually easy to start a beef with the hosts of the show you’re a contestant on, but during the show’s season two reunion, Vanessa Lachey had some choice words for Shake, who admitted that physical beauty was number one on his criteria for a woman. Lachey said, “The problem I have, Shake, is that you sat there and berated every single one of these women physically, and then you went through the process with this beautiful soul over here all because you wanted someone you wanted to fuck, not fall in love with.” (In response, Shake applauded Lachey’s comments, and later told her how attracted to her he was. He gets it!)

And this week Shake had some choice words for host Nick Lachey, which he posted and then deleted from his Instagram account. In response to Shake’s cruelty toward his fiancee Deepti at the reunion and his subsequent thoughts on women’s weight and looks, Lachey quipped to the veterinarian, “I can see why you don’t treat humans.” On Instagram, Shake let Lachey have it, writing, “@nicklachey, you’re a massive twat for your comment dragging vets. You do realize that becoming a veterinarian [is] considerably more difficult than becoming a human doc right? Also, consider learning how to be an impartial host before the Season 3 reunion airs. Sorry I didn’t play along with your narrative like the rest of those puppets. Say hi to @vanessalachey for me.”

Shake has not apologized for these comments.

Where to watch Love is Blind