‘The View’ Grills Stephanie Grisham About Leaving Trump White House: “Why Did It Take An Insurrection?”

Former Trump Press Secretary Stephanie Grisham helped co-host The View this week, and the ABC talk show’s hosts didn’t hestitate to grill her about her old gig. But one question was on the top of their minds: Why did it take Grisham until January 2021 to leave the White House?

“Why did it take an insurrection to get you to quit?” Sunny Hostin asked.

Grisham revealed that while she tried to resign several times, she wasn’t determined to leave until she arrived in the West Wing. “I realized it was a really bad environment,” she said. “I hadn’t seen with my own eyes some of the things that he did and said… I think the problem is, though, that I believed in him in the beginning.”

“What did you believe in? His policies?” Joy Behar replied. “Because you knew he was a sexist misogynist.”

Grisham replied: “I was moved by how passionate the country felt about him. I was excited that a businessman was gonna come in and hopefully treat our country like a business.”

But when Hostin argued that Trump is a “fake businessman,” the guest host agreed. “I didn’t [know at the time],” she said. “I honestly didn’t.”

Grisham alleged that “half the country believe him,” to which Whoopi Goldberg replied, “A quarter of the country, and Russia.”

While the former Press Secretary admitted that she would struggle to vote for a Democrat should Trump run for president in 2024, she emphasized that it’s now her goal to help current Trump supporters learn the truth about the twice-impeached president.

“I am sorry. I will say that ’til the end of time,” Grisham said. “But I want to give people an off ramp, and I’m gonna do everything I can to educate people, not talk down to them. Educate people about who he really is. That he is a con man. That this is a cult-like thing. And that it’s okay to just get off.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC. Scroll up to watch a clip from today’s episode.

Where to watch The View