Stephanie Grisham Blows Up on ‘The View’ in Trump Fueled Argument: “I Could Be Home Right Now”

After being a remarkably laid-back presence throughout the last few days of The View, gust co-host and former Trump Press Secretary Stephanie Grisham came to blows with members of the panel. As regular guest co-host Ana Navarro began grilling her about why she stayed within the administration, the ensuing squabbles shed light on the panel’s own feelings regarding the Republican Party’s future.

Things first started heating up when the co-hosts discussed former President Donald Trump asking his supporters to fund his new private plane. After Grisham revealed that Trump “laughs at [these supporters] behind closed doors,” Navarro once again posed a question that’s loomed over Grisham all week: If she knew how bad things were within the administration, why did it take her until the insurrection to leave?

“We could fill up an entire library right now of people who were there being his accomplices, and being his minions for four years,” Navarro said, noting that she faced four years of “attacks” from Trump White House employees. “I think people deserve an explanation.”

After reiterating that she’d addressed this question on Tuesday and Wednesday’s episodes, a visibly frustrated Grisham addressed her fellow guest co-host.

“I worked for Mrs. Trump. I moved to the West Wing. I saw things I hated. By that time, I wanted to leave,” she said. “And I knew because of, sorry, people like you — who are so against me — that I would not be able to get a job anywhere… When you keep attacking me, you’re attacking a lot of people out there who might need an off ramp.”

Although Grisham reiterated that she will do “everything I can” to ensure that Trump isn’t elected again, Navarro wasn’t convinced. “Why should people believe you now, after four years?” she asked.

“This is not fun for me!” Grisham exclaimed. “I could be at home right now with my dogs and my family and my chickens!”

Joy Behar cut in, asking Navarro: “Is it not possible for someone to see the light and change?

“After the way he treated immigrants?” Navarro replied.  “After what he said about Mexicans? After hearing the sexual assault boasts on tape? After seeing him make fun of a disabled reporter? You need four years?”

Grisham cut in, saying: “You don’t know the things I stayed in there and stopped.”

Meanwhile, Sunny Hostin questioned why Navarro was still a Republican as a Latina, and why Grisham was still a Republican after what she saw in the White House.

While Grisham insisted that Trump wasn’t a true Republican, Navarro felt strongly about fighting for change within the party itself.

“I think the worst thing that could happen to a minority group is to have one party take you for granted and think you’re going to vote for them because they have no other option, and another party that openly attacks and antagonizes you,” she said. “I hope that one day, there are two healthy parties competing for our vote.”

Behar agreed that it’s “important for people to fight within the party,” but Hostin firmly disagreed.

“I think there’s a time to cut faith,” Hostin said. “And I think that when you have a party that is so sick and divisive, and so harmful to this country, I think standing in that party makes you complicit.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.

Where to watch The View