Anne Hathaway Made ‘WeCrashed’ Costar Jared Leto Break Character By Quoting The ‘House of Gucci’ Trailer: “It Was Like A Horcrux”

From Suicide Squad to Requiem for a Dream, Jared Leto has proven that he’s more than ready to get lost in his roles. But he was no match for fellow Oscar winner Anne Hathaway, who managed to interrupt his Method acting while filming their new Apple TV+ series WeCrashed. The secret? Quoting House of Gucci.

Leto plays eccentric WeWork co-founder Adam Neuman, while Hathaway plays his wife Rebekah, a businesswoman and aspiring wellness guru. During a recent appearance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Hathaway revealed that Leto never broke character during the six months they spent filming together… well, almost never.

“I really respect Jared’s process and I had a wonderful time working with whoever that was, and we really created the most beautiful connection between us and I always wanted to be really respectful,” Hathaway said. “But the day the House of Gucci trailer came out, I mean, I had to do something. I couldn’t just let it be.”

She explained that after filming an intense scene, she quoted Lady Gaga’s already-iconic “father, son, house of Gucci” line at him, “because you have to.”

“I swear to God, he split into three,” Hathaway recalled. “It was like a Horcrux. It was like over here was Jared, here was Paolo Gucci, and here was Adam Neumann.”

She joked that her costar even resembled a malfunctioning robot during their encounter. “I was, like, ‘Whoa. I think I just time travel,'” the actress joked.

WeCrashed premieres Friday, March 18, on Apple TV+.

Where to watch WeCrashed