Taylor Sheridan Talks His Excessive TV Slate: “Non Sustainable”

Even Taylor Sheridan knows that he has an insane number of shows on the air, or in development. In a new interview with Variety, the mini-mogul showrunner discussed his nine (!!!) in progress series, and how that level of work is “not sustainable.”

“This volume of work is not sustainable for a long period of time,” Sheridan noted. “But it’s an opportunity to tell stories the way I want to tell them with a creative freedom that just doesn’t exist in this space. And so I kind of have to take advantage of it… I don’t necessarily want to be doing this when I’m 70. I don’t know that I want to be doing it when I’m 60. So I’d rather work real hard to do it now.”

Though Sheridan’s biggest success is Paramount Network’s Yellowstone, the bulk of his output is coming for the company’s streaming service, Paramount+. In fact, if it weren’t for Star Trek series, the company formerly known as ViacomCBS might as well call their service Sheridan+. 1883, the Yellowstone prequel, recently finished its run, and will segue into another prequel series, 1932. Also in the works is 6666, which does not take place in the far-future, but instead focuses on another ranch being managed the same time as the Dutton’s in Yellowstone.

Sheridan also has the Jeremy Renner starring hit Mayor of Kingstown, which has been renewed for a second season. And upcoming, there’s: Tulsa King, starring Sylvester Stallone; Lioness, starring Zoe Saldaña; Bass Reeves, starring David Oyelowo; and Land Man, starring Billy Bob Thornton.

So how does Sheridan do it all? The answer is: he doesn’t. Or at least, he won’t. Unlike with previous series where he’s written every episode, as well as co-starring in some and directing others, for his upcoming projects he will do something unprecedented… He’s going to delegate, by hiring a writing staff.

“How am I at delegating?” Sheridan said. “How am I at expressing myself to these writers in a way that they understand, that they can then execute the draft and hold my vision? We’ll find out.”

And chances are, viewers will be there to find out, too.