Amanda Seyfried Felt “Grossed Out” By Boys Asking for Weather Predictions After ‘Mean Girls’

Amanda Seyfried says one of the first big breaks in her career caused her plenty of discomfort, from male fans in particular. The actor, who appeared as ditzy clique member Karen Smith in the 2004 teen comedy Mean Girls, says that she received unwelcome attention after the film came out, thanks to her character’s weather predictions.

As Karen, Seyfried gave a weather forecast by clutching her chest and reciting the now famous Mean Girls line, “It’s 68 degrees, and there’s a 30 percent chance that it’s already raining,” as rain pours down around her. While the scene is one of the film’s most beloved moments, Seyfried told Marie Claire she was disgusted by the response to her character from boys, who would come up to her and ask about the weather.

“I always felt really grossed out by that,” she told the outlet. “I was like 18 years old. It was just gross.”

After having the experience of being a young, working actor, Seyfried weighed in on the consequences of being in the spotlight while still growing up, telling Marie Claire, “I think being really famous [young] must really fucking suck. It must make you feel completely unsafe in the world. I see these younger actors who think they have to have security. They think they have to have an assistant. They think their whole world has changed. It can get stressful. I’ve seen it happen to my peers.”

Seyfried, who bought a home in the Catskills in 2013, added,  “So, I bought a farm. I was like, let’s go in the opposite way.”

Years after her run in Mean Girls, Seyfried appeared in Big Love, Mamma Mia!, Jennifer’s Body, and most recently, Hulu’s The Dropout, a drama about Theranos creator Elizabeth Holmes. Seyfried, who plays the disgraced Silicon Valley inventor, told Marie Claire that the real-life Holmes did not want to be involved in the TV adaptation of her life.

“I’m not being told much because she’s smart… but …I was told she wasn’t gonna watch it, that it was bad news, and that she didn’t want any part of it,” Seyfried said of Holmes’ reaction to The Dropout. 

The actor, who did not communicate with Holmes while filming the show, added, “I don’t know if it’s totally true. Who knows? I’m a little skeptical of any information that comes my way.”