‘Circle’ Winner DeLeesa Welcomes Husband Trevor to the #CircleFam: “I Really Am Proud of Him”

The term #CircleFamily comes up a lot on Netflix’s The Circle. Even amidst all the alliances and strategy and shade, #CircleFam persists in the group chats. That’s definitely the case in Season 4, but what the players don’t know is that there actually is a literal Circle Family — and one of those family members just joined their game.

That player is Trevor St. Agathe, who joins the competition in Episode 7. If he looks familiar, it’s because Trevor’s already been on The Circle before; his wife DeLeesa catfished her way to $100K posing as Trevor back in Season 2. Now the man behind the winning profile has entered the chat — but no one else knows this. Just like his wife, Trevor aims to go the distance playing as someone completely different. He’s playing as Imani, a woman who is single and ready to mingle (if it helps Trevor’s chances of making it to the end).

Now that Trevor’s made his Circle debut, the hit reality series has its very own First Family. This is something that thrills both Trevor and DeLeesa, as they shared with Decider during our interview with this power couple. Below you’ll find out how Trevor prepared for the role of a lifetime, what pointers DeLeesa provided on playing a woman, and what it’s like to both be members of the #CircleFam and a Circle family.


Decider: I’ll start by asking you about your strategy, Trevor. Do you think you had an advantage because of DeLeesa? Did she give you tips?

Trevor St. Agathe: The thing that people have to realize is that every season is so different because the cast is different, the games, the twists and turns are different. There’s been so much info that she gave me going into the game. She gave me incredible tips about how to be a woman. But when it came to my strategy, I told myself early on, I was like, “I think it’d be really crucial, since I’m playing a woman, to have a really good relationship with the other women in the game.” Women can be very cutthroat [on The Circle], as we’ve seen in the past. I don’t want that to happen. And that strategy became even more important given the fact that I came in when I came in, because I don’t know who’s got relationships with who. I don’t want to step on any toes or anything like that. So let me just form really good relationships with the women in the game, and then after that, align myself with one man, and hopefully that’ll help me gain favor amongst the rest of the men in the game.

The Circle Season 4. Trevor St. Agathe as Imani in The Circle Season 4. Courtesy of Netflix © 2021.
Courtesy of Netflix

Whose idea was it for Trevor to go on The Circle? What was your reaction, DeLeesa? Were you worried at all?

DeLeesa St. Agathe: Like, we can always use more money! That [prize] money is long gone. We got the house, we had to get furniture. Everybody thinking we’re rich — we are not rich, okay! [Laughs] But that’s really not — honestly, the number one reason is we are extremely competitive against each other, literally with the smallest, dumbest things. We’re like, “Oh, who’s wearing the blue better?” The smallest things! And he had a lot to say about my game [in Season 2], me being him and playing as a guy and sports and flirting. He had a lot to say and it got to the point where I was fed up and I was like, “Well, if you think that you can do better, go apply!” So he went and applied and it obviously worked out and he made it on the show. But it was very much like, “Alright, if you think you could do better, you better do kind of what I did. Obviously you can’t go in as yourself. People would know. You come in as a female. I want to see you as a girl. If it’s so easy for a girl to be a guy, then let’s turn the tables and see if you can actually make it happen. That’s how we came up with his whole persona, [through] a lot of husband and wife competition.

Trevor and Imani profile
Photo: Netflix

You joined The Circle with Eversen. Being a move-in buddy didn’t help Rachel and Alex form a bond, but you seem to have hit it off with Eversen right away.

Trevor: Once I saw everything, I was like, “Oh, well, there it is.” He was basically served on a platter to me. I was like, fantastic, because at least I knew that there was no one else that he had spoken to in the game, right? I don’t have to worry about another female talking to him or already getting their foot in the door. So I was like, “This is perfect. This works great for my game.” The fact of the matter was, when I looked at his profile, I was like, there’s so many similarities. We’re the same age. I was like, this is gonna work out perfectly and I thought that us coming in together would also help us bond. So for me, it was the best possible situation.”

DeLeesa, did you have any tips for Trevor on how to communicate as a woman? Or how to flirt as a woman?

DeLeesa: Actually, the only thing I really said was like, “You should use emojis.” I didn’t really give him advice on flirting. I made his catfish Bible and I taught him how to be a woman in that regard. But flirting, that’s all him, his strategy.

Trevor: That was something that we didn’t we didn’t discuss when she went in [as Trevor in Season 2]. She was confident enough, like, “I can easily flirt like a man.” She didn’t even ask me. So when my turn came, she was very much like, “Go ahead. You’re on your own with that one.” Honestly, I just pull from experience. I was like, “What would DeLeesa say?” I’m just gonna have fun with it.

You also went into The Circle with a family pillow with all the photos on it, like the one DeLeesa had in Season 2.

DeLeesa: That’s actually the same pillow! He had the same exact pillow.

The Circle, Trevor / Deleesa and family pillow
Photo: Netflix

DeLeesa: I made him a blanket, but he wasn’t able to bring that blanket into the apartment with him. But I did make him a blanket and we had our our Circle baby on it. I think he said he was gonna wear it like a cape or something.

Trevor: I was gonna wear it all the time. In bed, on the couch…

DeLeesa: So it’s family stuff, for us to remember each other by and offer encouragement.

I’m sure you were also encouraged when you found out that the prize money had increased to $150,000. What was your reaction to that?

Trevor: Oh, I can’t even explain to you. I must have read that, like, seven times. I’m getting older and my vision is not what it was, but I was like, “That’s 150K!” And I found out in the same conversation that the Spice Girls were in the game. And it was like, “Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa — !” It was so overwhelming to be in the game at that point in time and find out that the pot is bigger than it’s ever been. Mind blown. Mind blown. You definitely feel a little bit more pressure at that point. I felt it going in because I was like, “Man, I talked all that talk to DeLeesa and now I’ve got to come in here and perform.” And then you find out that there’s an extra $50K up for grabs.

The Circle Season 4. Trevor St. Agathe as Imani in The Circle Season 4. Courtesy of Netflix © 2021.
Courtesy of Netflix

Not too long after that you had to go through one of the most intense eliminations ever during the cyber attack. You and Eversen had to pick one person to save, and you chose Frank. How did y’all reach that decision?

Trevor: I like to think that I basically spearheaded that decision. I felt like I was really pushy, because I knew in my heart that saving Frank was the right thing to do. Frank for me was somebody that, from our initial interaction, I was like, “I love his energy. I love what he brings. I love everything he says. He strikes me as a really good person.” Not to say that other people didn’t, but he stood out to me as somebody that was genuine and somebody that I would want as an ally in the game. I felt like there were things that we could potentially bond over. Frank, to me. felt like someone that I, outside of the show, would have a friendship with. And I said, “This is who I really want to save.” When I looked down that list, I was like, Frank’s the guy. And Eversen seemed to just go with it. He didn’t put up any resistance and he hesitation he said, “Alright, I’m down for saving Frank.”

DeLeesa, what’s it been like to see Trevor get his own #CircleFam? He’s clearly been an extended relative since Season 2, but now he has his own castmates and probably group chats and relationships, etc. 

DeLeesa: It’s amazing. I wanted him to have this experience on his own, and I’m really proud of him. I’m so happy that we we both experienced this experience, crazy roller coaster ride, and we experienced it together and separately, but also together. It’s really weird. We’re like the first Circle family. So I’m so happy and I’m happy he has his own cast mates and he has his own connections and his own bonds and people that he can talk to about his experience. He has his own personal experience, because this is the most incredible experience that you can ever have, truly. So I’m proud of him and I’m happy. Welcome to the Circle family, babe!

Trevor intro
Photo: Netflix

Trevor: It really is a blessing. For us to be able to go into the Circle and do what we’ve done, I don’t know if it’ll ever be done again. But to be the first couple that have gone into the circle together and separately is really, really, really cool. I’m honored to be able to have done it, really happy to be amongst my cast, and then obviously have my wife here and be able to do this alongside her is really cool, too.