Michael Che Rumored To Be Leaving ‘SNL’ After Season 47

Saturday Night Live will end its 47th season next weekend and as usual, the show’s summer break is accompanied by rumors about cast members potentially leaving the show.

While certain top cast members have taken a break from SNL in the past to work on other projects in an effort to keep them on the show in some capacity, the demanding schedule usually results in most cast members eventually moving on.

This year, it is rumored that Michael Che might be leaving. The current co-head writer of the show and co-host of Weekend Update with Colin Jost since 2014 said during a new interview with The New York Times that he does not plan to stick around SNL much longer.

“My head has been at leaving for the past five seasons,” Che said. “I do think that I’ve been here longer than I’ll be here. This show is built for younger voices and, at some point, there’ll be something more exciting to watch at the halfway mark of the show than me and dumb Jost.”

Lorne Michaels seemed to understand Che’s sentiment, saying in the same New York Times story that “a year of change” could be in store for his show after this season. He did make it clear, however, that he would rather Che stay behind the Weekend Update desk.

“If I had my way, he’ll be here,” said Michaels. “And I don’t always get my way. But when you have someone who’s the real thing, you want to hold on as long as you can.”

It has also been rumored that Pete Davidson might be leaving the show as well. The comedian has often teased his eventual exit, saying in a 2020 interview that he wished 2019 was his last year on the show.

“I have a weird feeling in that building where I don’t know whose team they’re playing for,” Davidson said. “If I’m the joke or I’m in on the joke. I really wanted [2019] to be my last year, but I’m still around and trying to knock it away.”

Natasha Lyonne will host the Season 47 finale on May 21 with Japanese Breakfast serving as the final musical guest.

Michael is a music and television junkie keen on most things that are not a complete and total bore. You can follow him on Twitter — @Tweetskoor

Stream Saturday Night Live on Peacock