Alec Baldwin to Interview Woody Allen on Instagram, Tells Director “I Love You”

In a pairing that nobody asked for, Alec Baldwin will be interviewing Woody Allen Tuesday (June 28). Baldwin announced the upcoming chat on his social media feed Sunday, telling his followers he will be conducting an Instagram Live with the controversial director, while making clear he doesn’t care what you — or anyone else — thinks about it.

In a gleeful video, Baldwin teased tomorrow’s interview, holding up a copy of Allen’s book Zero Gravity in front of the camera and proclaiming, “This coming Tuesday, I’m going to be doing an Instagram Live with … Woody Allen,” adding, “Who I love. I love you, Woody.”

Baldwin captioned his video with a disclaimer, writing beside the clip, “Let me preface this by stating that I have ZERO INTEREST in anyone’s judgments and sanctimonious posts here. I am OBVIOUSLY someone who has my own set of beliefs and COULD NOT CARE LESS about anyone else’s speculation. If you believe that a trial should be conducted by way of an HBO documentary, that’s your issue.”

Allen was the subject of an HBO documentary series released last year titled Allen v. Farrow, which detailed allegations of abuse against him, specifically claims that he sexually abused his adopted daughter Dylan Farrow when she was a child. Allen has denied all allegations, blasting them as “untrue and disgraceful” after the docuseries premiered, per Variety.

Baldwin has had his own share of controversy; in October 2021 he was holding a prop gun that went off on the set of his film Rust, shooting and killing cinematographer Halyna Hutchins and injuring director Joel Souza. Baldwin has denied responsibility in Hutchins’ death, telling Good Morning America in December 2021, “Someone is ​responsible for what happened, and I can’t say who that is, but I know it’s not me.”

His upcoming Instagram Live is the latest collaboration between Baldwin and Allen. The actor has starred in multiple Allen films, including Alice, To Rome With Love and Blue Jasmine.

Baldwin will interview Allen Tuesday at 10:30 a.m. ET on his Instagram account.