‘The Bachelorette’ Fans Flip Over Cringey Kiss: “I Wish I Could Unsee That”

The Bachelorette Season 19 marked two firsts when it premiered on ABC last night. The long-running reality dating show not only featured two leads, but also included what may be the franchise’s most uncomfortable kiss yet.

Gabby Windey, who is splitting Bachelorette duties with Rachel Recchia this season, shared an especially cringey smooch with contestant Mario Vassall on Monday’s episode. After Mario told Gabby she looked beautiful, he leaned in for a kiss that had fans watching from home practically covering their eyes with secondhand embarrassment.

“Why was Gabby’s first kiss the most cringe ever …” one wrote.

“Watching The Bachelorette has made me realize I’m so glad I’ve never seen myself kiss someone. All of these kisses have looked so awkward,” another added.

Another viewer chimed in, “I feel like Gabby and Mario owe a public apology to America for making us watch that kiss.”

Despite the audience reaction from home, Gabby seemed impressed with Mario — so much so that she even gave him her first impression rose, a move that left Bachelor Nation puzzled. After Mario got the coveted prize, one viewer tweeted, “MARIO?? Gabby is giving her rose to Mario when that kiss looked so bad.”

But if you ask Gabby, the kiss was rose-worthy. She said on last night’s episode, “I was really excited to talk to Mario. He’s a great kisser. He’s kind of giving me butterflies.”

As Bachelorette fans know, the season can take a wild turn in the blink of an eye. Stay tuned for more drama (and hopefully better kisses, for all of our sakes) when The Bachelorette returns next Monday at 8/7c on ABC.