Sofía Vergara Tears Up After ‘AGT’ Contestant Dedicates Song to His Late Twin Brother

Sofía Vergara was brought to tears by a contestant on last night’s episode of America’s Got Talent when he shared the emotional experience behind the original song he performed. Wyn Starks auditioned on Tuesday’s (July 12) show by singing “Who I Am” for the judges, a track he wrote that his late twin brother especially loved.

“It was one of my brother’s favorite songs,” he told Simon Cowell, Heidi Klum and Sofia Vergara. “I’m a twin, and recently actually lost my twin brother.”

Vergara could be heard exclaiming, “Oh, no,” as Starks continued, admitting to the panel, “It’s been really hard. And, you know, he was one of my biggest supporters. So to be here means everything to me, and I’m doing this for him.”

He added, “I just want to do this and honor him,” while the camera lingered on Vergara, who looked somber in her seat at the table.

After Starks wowed the audience with his original ballad, the judges shared their thoughts, beginning with Vergara, who was clearly emotional after watching his performance.

“That was amazing,” she said. “I’m so sorry for your loss. I know what that means. I lost my brother too, and I cannot even imagine what it is to lose a twin because that bond has to be something unexplainable. … I love all the feeling that you gave to your song. I love your song, and I love that it was your song.”

Cowell, who was seated next to Vergara at the judges’ table, reached over to comfort her by putting an arm on her shoulder.

Vergara’s brother, Rafael, was shot and killed during a kidnapping attempt in her native Colombia in 1998. While recalling his death to Parade magazine in 2011, Vergara described it as “a nightmare,” and said much of her family came to live with her in Miami after the incident.

“Mother was like a zombie,” she said. “I wanted to be with them. So I got a big house and we all lived together. I am so grateful to be in this country.”

America’s Got Talent airs Tuesdays at 8/7c on NBC. Watch Vergara’s teary reaction from last night’s episode in the video above.