Joy Behar Returns to ‘The View’ After Missing a Week of Shows: “I Had a Virus”

Joy Behar made her triumphant return to The View on Monday after missing multiple shows last week. Viewers finally got answers about Behar’s hiatus after her co-host, Whoopi Goldberg, joked on Thursday’s (July 14) episode that Behar was out because she was pregnant  — a highly unlikely scenario for the 79-year-old.

Today, Goldberg welcomed back Behar, as well as Sara Haines, who had been out with COVID-19 for a week. “People have been writing us going, ‘Where is everybody?'” Goldberg explained, before Behar chimed in to explain her absence.

“I’m here to remind everybody, there are diseases out there besides COVID,” Behar said. “I had a virus, that’s it, a really strong virus. I tested negative in five PCR tests. I did not have it. I still have never had it, but I’m a little worried about getting it now.”

Thankfully, Behar said she had plenty of care while sick at home, thanks to her husband and dog. She told her co-hosts, “My husband was very good. He took care of me. And my dog never left my side while I was in bed. I did not eat for four days. I was sick and I just didn’t get out of bed.”

Haines, who has since recovered from her bout with COVID, also shared her experience. Haines admitted she had gotten “cocky” about dodging the virus for years and was “shocked” when it finally came for her.

“I kept thinking I had a sinus infection,” Haines said, explaining that she didn’t realize she had COVID until she took a test at home and it showed a positive result.

“I think that was the biggest hit I took,” she said. “I thought I was super immune with all the boosters and I thought, ‘I’m one of those people that’s dodging it left and right.'”

We’re happy to have both Haines and Behar back, and are crossing our fingers the rest of the panel stays safe and healthy this season!

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.