Poopies, ‘Jackass’ Star Who Was Attacked on ‘Shark Week,’ Returns to Open Waters One Year Later

One year after getting attacked during a Shark Week stunt, Jackass star Sean McInerney, a.k.a. Poopies, was back in the water and facing his fears. The stuntman returned to the open waters for a special that aired Sunday in which he and his Jackass crew swam with some of the ocean’s fiercest predators.

Before plunging back into the water, Poopies looked back on last year’s terrifying incident. Tearing up, he told the camera, “I thought I was gonna die in front of my friends … that’s pretty heavy,” per Yahoo Entertainment.

Poopies was attacked by a shark during a 2021 Shark Week special in which he rode a wakeboard over shark-filled waters. One of the animals latched onto his wrist and arm, but Poopies was thankfully pulled to safety and tended to by medics. A full year later, Poopies has recovered by suffers lingering effects from the attack, including a fear of sharks, according to Yahoo Entertainment.

By returning to Shark Week this year, he hoped to conquer his fear.

“I don’t want that accident to stop me from doing what I love,” he said, per Yahoo Entertainment. “I love the ocean, and I love surfing. I’m never gonna stop.”

While the experience of swimming with sharks was scary at first — Poopies said he was “freaking out” underwater and thought the sharks were “coming right for me” — he quickly seemed right at home on the ocean floor.

Poopies even joked that he spotted the same shark who attacked him last year, saying, “He’s having a great time, having more fun than anyone else.”

As for the rest of the sharks, he added, “They’re loving me down here and I’m loving them back.”

Poopies was met with cheers and applause when he returned to the boat, and he seemed overjoyed with his successful dive.

“Holy moly, I did it. You definitely have to have a respect for those sharks,” he said. “I feel a lot better. I don’t have a fear of dying when I’m next to sharks anymore.”

Watch Poopies’ Shark Week dive in the video above.