New Movies on Demand: ‘Elvis,’ ‘I Love My Dad,’ + More

This week’s new movies on demand are all about bad dads. Or at least bad father figures. (Cue the George Michael song.) Films like Elvis and I Love My Dad both feature grown men with less than honorable intentions, and they’re among our top choices for this week’s new movies on VOD.

The movie I really can’t wait to see this weekend, however is Collide, in which Jim Gaffigan, a comedian known for his good-natured dad-ness. In Collide though, he plays a disgruntled, cuckolded husband who is stalking his wife, played by Drea De Matteo. Listen, I’m already a fan of Paul Reiser and Ray Romano’s dramatic works, so I’m here for the beginning of a new career direction, this here Gaffigan Noir. Collide co-stars Kat Graham and Ryan Phillippe, and each character in this gritty ensemble is hiding potentially fatal secrets from one another, and guess what? On one fateful night, they all…collide.

These are just a few of the titles that are available to watch on Amazon Prime Video, iTunes, YouTube, and through your cable service this week. Check out what movies are available to buy or rent on demand now!

Elvis


Baz Luhrmann’s Elvis, which hit theaters in June, is now available on VOD, and if you like glossy spectacles full of song and dance and general mayhem, this is the film for you. Austin Butler tackles the title role looking every bit the pillow-lipped dreamboat that young Elvis Presley was, but the film goes into darker territory when it divulges the darker side of Presley’s come-up, his relationship with Colonel Tom Parker (Tom Hanks), a gruff con man who helped the create the archetype of the creepy, predatory music manager that’s still with us to this day.

Where to stream Elvis

I Love My Dad


I Love My Dad, the second film from writer-director James Morosini, has the cringe-inducing honor of being a true-ish story. The film tells the story of what happened when Morosini, who stars in the film as a man named Franklin, was actually catfished by his own father online. When Franklin attempts to cut ties with his dad Chuck (played by Patton Oswalt), Chuck creates a fake online profile and befriends his son by pretending to be a cute girl named Becca (Claudia Sulewski). The only trouble is that Franklin develops feelings for “Becca” and wants to meet. In real life, Morosini’s relationship with his dad recovered, and the end result is, well, this dark comedy unlike anything else you’ve seen.

Where to stream I Love My Dad

To Buy

A Second Chance at Love

To Rent:

I Love My Dad
Elvis
Collide
Harper
Canvas (2022)
Of The Devil
Tin Can
No Way Out
The Andy Baker Tape
WifeLike
Poser (2022)
A Tale of Love & Desire
My Favorite Girlfriend
Songbirds
Royal Weddings Through The Years
The Roundup
Delusional
Free, Dead or Alive
Potty Town
Working for the Windsors: The Butler and the Bodyguard
Rogue Agent
Shark Waters

Liz Kocan is a pop culture writer living in Massachusetts. Her biggest claim to fame is the time she won on the game show Chain Reaction.