‘The Bachelorette’ Fans Slam Host For Not Disclosing Logan’s COVID Diagnosis: “I Am Disturbed”

Even The Bachelorette isn’t COVID-proof. Monday night’s (Aug. 15) episode left fans feeling sour when one of Gabby Windey’s men, Logan Seagull, tested positive following the group date earlier in the day. However, it wasn’t that Logan tested positive that upset viewers, it was the fact that after host Jesse Palmer gave the news to Gabby, he wasn’t as honest with the rest of the men.

“As you can probably tell by now, Logan’s not here,” Jesse told the group. “There has been a situation with Logan. And because of that, there is no after party.”

When Spencer Swies asked if Logan was okay, Jesse vaguely said, “Logan’s doing, yeah, Logan’s doing okay.”

The contestant didn’t only get COVID — he was also eliminated from the show, with Gabby later on telling everyone, “I had to send Nate home and then Logan can’t be joining us for the rest of our journey. And so now I have four men.”

As for the response, fans were infuriated that the rest of the men weren’t told about Logan’s diagnosis despite being in contact with him.

“Are they…not telling them…logan tested positive…even though… they’re all close contacts????” one wrote, while another said, “Covid doesn’t exist in the bachelorette unless they’re trying to get Logan out.”

Another person fumed, “WTF… why didn’t Jesse tell them Logan HAS COVID. Trying to stir the damn pot at any means necessary.”

Someone else admitted, “I am DISTURBED.”

“Jesse dramatically saying ‘there’s been a… situation…with Logan and there will be no party tonight’ instead of simply saying ‘Logan got covid’ is messy,” a fan pointed out.

Another noticed, “Wait so Logan tested positive for Covid but the other men didn’t after they were all rolling around together in a dungeon earlier in the day?”

In a lengthy Instagram post following the episode, Logan reflected on his reality show experience, causing followers to believe mental health may have played a role in his departure. One upset fan wrote, “I sure hope producers didn’t try to cover this up with a fake case of Covid because that’s exactly what it’s looking like.”

In the post, Logan said, “I have struggled with my mental health since i was 12 years old, and this process was more difficult in that arena than I ever thought possible.”

He continued, “Destructive thoughts and constant doubt are hurdles that I think everyone relates to at some point but not everyone talks about. I want to be transparent about that part of my journey too, and I hope I can be a safe place for others who struggle with it. Acknowledging my mental health and how it affects those around me will be a priority in my life moving forward.”

The Bachelorette airs Mondays at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.