Kelli Giddish Forced Out of ‘Law & Order: SVU’ by NBC: Report

Where to Stream:

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit

Powered by Reelgood

Just earlier this week, Kelli Giddish announced she would be leaving Law & Order: SVU following Season 24 — and now, new details have emerged claiming that the decision to exit the show was not one made by the actress or the showrunner.

Per Variety, multiple sources say the decision to let Giddish go after 12 seasons was “a call made from above,” with sources adding that the company strives to keep the show as current as possible. They further claimed that salary negotiations could not come to a compromise. Allegedly, even Mariska Hargitay, who stars and executive produces SVU, fought to keep the actress, though her input didn’t hold much weight as the decision had already been made.

Giddish, who plays Detective Amanda Rollins in the hit NBC crime show, announced her departure, confirming that the upcoming Season 24 “will, indeed be my last season on Law & Order: SVU,” per Deadline.

She continued, “Playing Rollins has been one of the greatest joys and privileges of my life. I’ve been so fortunate to be a part of the Law & Order family for the last 12 years. There is simply no other character on TV like Rollins. She’s grown and changed, and I have as well. I started on this show when I was in my late 20s and I’m grateful I got to spend so many of my adult years with Rollins in my life.”

Following the news that Giddish would not return, showrunner David Graziano responded to angry fans on social media, writing, “You might take a moment to entertain the idea that things are more complex than they appear in a world of emojis and tweets. All I’ll say is Kelli has handled this with the most incredibly classy comportment. She is, without a doubt, one of the finest industry professionals I’ve come across in my 24 years of writing television. I’m saddened by her looming exit. It’ll be my lucky day if I ever get to write for her again.”

Law & Order: SVU returns on Sept. 22 at 9/8c on NBC.