Rena Sofer Reveals Why She Left ‘The Bold and the Beautiful’: “I Deserved More”

Where to Stream:

The Bold And The Beautiful

Powered by Reelgood

After nine years, The Bold and the Beautiful fans have officially said goodbye to Rena Sofer. The actress, who played Quinn Fuller from 2013 to 2022, recently opened up about her decision to leave the CBS soap opera, just weeks after announcing she would be exiting the series.

In an interview with Soap Opera DigestSofer said her contract expired in May, claiming she didn’t hear from anyone until just before her last week of shooting ahead of the July hiatus. According to the actress, they said they didn’t know what was going on with her character, but asked that she stay on a “recurring basis” until they figure it out.

“I just felt like if my decision wasn’t set at that point, that kind of made it clear, that they just didn’t know what to do with Quinn, and I felt like I deserved more than just sitting around until they figured it out,” she told the outlet. “Especially at the end of the whole ‘Quarter’ story; there was still so much to do, you know. I still wasn’t divorced from Eric [John McCook], and Donna [Jennifer Gareis] was still in the mix of that, and so I just felt like it was time to go.”

She continued, “I told them I was leaving, and [showrunner] Brad [Bell] called me and he really wanted me to stay and I really appreciated that he wanted me to stay.”

Sofer let fans in on the news in an Instagram post earlier this month, writing that Aug. 5 was “not just my daughter’s birthday but the end of my 9 year run as Quinn on @boldandbeautifulcbs.”

The actress, who also owns Rena Sofer Ceramics, an online pottery store that donates a percentage of proceeds to animal rescues, added, “I know it’s heartbreaking for some and it is for me as well, but it’s time for me to move on with both my acting career and my pottery career. Thank you all for your support over the last 9 years and in the future.”

Later on in her conversation with Soap Opera Digest, Sofer reflected on her last day of shooting.

“On that Friday, they stopped after my last scene and they had cupcakes and gifts and flowers and speeches,” she said. “I really wasn’t expecting it. I really, really didn’t think that particular group was gonna care that I left. I was pretty sure that they were gonna be like, ‘Oh thank god, she’s leaving.’ But no, they were really kind to me and it made me feel so good.”

The Bold and the Beautiful airs daily at 1:30 p.m. on CBS.