Kelly Clarkson Shuts Down Jennifer Hudson Feud Rumor: “Don’t Like How People Pit Us Against Each Other”

Kelly Clarkson may be filling Ellen DeGeneres‘ plum broadcast time slot, but she’s also facing fresh competition in the daytime talk show space. Clarkson, who is preparing to debut Season 4 of The Kelly Clarkson Show, will be joined in the daytime TV sphere by another American Idol alum, Jennifer Hudson.

Hudson, who competed on Idol in 2004 and placed as a finalist in the third season of the series, is launching her own talk show, The Jennifer Hudson Show, this month. Ahead of the series’ premiere, Clarkson shut down any rumors of bad blood between herself and Hudson, sharing nothing but support for her fellow singer/talk show host while speaking to Variety.

Clarkson told the outlet she’s “so excited” for both Hudson and Sherri Shepherd, who is effectively taking over for Wendy Williams.

“I am so excited for Sherri Shepherd. I’m so stoked for her. She’s one of my favorite guests. Literally, I pole-danced with her on my show. And I’m so excited for Jennifer Hudson,” Clarkson said. “Who would have thought two girls from Idol would be doing this type of thing? There’s room for everyone.”

She continued, “I just wanted to say that, because I don’t like how people pit us against each other. I want to be sure that everyone knows that we are supportive of each other. We are all so different, and daytime is an amazing platform for all of us to bring something positive into the world.”

Clarkson first launched her talk show in 2019, and is taking over the slot previously occupied by The Ellen Show four years after her series premiere. While she’s moving into her old TV space, Clarkson insisted to Variety she’s not trying to become DeGeneres 2.0.

“Nobody is going to fill Ellen’s shoes,” she told the outlet. “I hold the Oprahs and the Ellens in such high regard. Very few people can conquer what they conquered. My team is very stoked, and I believe in my team. But by no means am I filling anyone shoes — I don’t want that pressure.”

The Kelly Clarkson Show returns for Season 4 on Sept. 12.