Rosie O’Donnell Finally Reveals The Reason For Her 20-Year Feud With Ellen DeGeneres

Rosie O’Donnell appeared on Andy Cohen‘s Watch What Happens Live this week and was questioned as to why she never appeared on Ellen DeGeneres‘ talk show throughout its 20-year run.

For context, Ellen did appear on Rosie’s show once and joked about her character coming out as “Lebanese” instead of lesbian.

Rosie explained that the situation is a bit complicated and started when Ellen once responded to a question from Larry King.

Doing an impression of the late host, Rosie asked, “Whatever happened to Rosie O’Donnell? Her show went down the tubes. She came out as a lesbian and disappeared.”

She then said that she was quoting Ellen’s exact response to Larry’s question, which was, “I don’t know Rosie. We’re not friends.”

Rosie recalled turning to her girlfriend at the time, Kelli Carpenter, and asked, “Did I just hear that or was that, like, a hallucination auditory voice?”

“I’m like, no, and that’s what happened, and it hurt my feelings like a baby and I never really got over it,” she told Andy.

Andy quickly pointed out, however, that this didn’t explain why the show never invited her on as a guest. As it turns out, though, they did, but certain particulars prevented it from happening.

“I was gonna go on for ‘SMILF,’” said Rosie, referring to her 2017-19 Showtime series. “But I wanted to bring someone with me ‘cause I thought it might be a little less awkward and they didn’t want to do that.”

Nevertheless, Rosie made it clear she harbors no resentment towards Ellen, saying, “I wish her all good things in her life and that she should be well.” You can watch the clip above.

Later she talked about Elisabeth Hasselbeck, who she fought with on The View in 2007 and ended up quitting over how things were handled.

A caller asked her about recent comments she’d made after Elisabeth returned to The View as a guest, poking fun at the First Lady’s admitted enthusiasm for Post-It notes.

“She came out with little Post-It notes,” Rosie said. “She’s like, ‘Here’s the Post-It notes I have for Joe Biden. You know, ‘Joe, the gas is too high,’ ‘Joe, how’s this workin’ for ya?’ ‘Joe, hey, Joe.’ And I was like [eugghh!] I wished I was there to, like, throw a sock at her or something.”

Shortly after Elisabeth’s return in early August, Rosie took to TikTok to share her thoughts after seeing her friend-turned-foe, calling it “strange” and saying, “I remembered why I don’t want to watch it with her anymore.”

Stream Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen on Bravo Now