‘Dahmer’ Crew Member Claims She Was “Treated Horribly” On Netflix Set

Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story production coordinator Kim Alsup called out the team behind the Netflix series, revealing that she was “treated horribly” on set. She alleges that she was one of just two Black people on the set and that other crew members often called her by the other Black person’s name.

“They kept calling me her name. We both had braids, she was dark skin and 5’10. I’m 5’5,” Alsup wrote on Twitter. “Working on this took everything I had as I was treated horribly. I look at the Black female lead differently now too.”

Alsup first posted about her on-set experiences on September 18, two days before Dahmer debuted on Netflix and would go on to top the streamer’s most-watched charts. In a September 30 interview with the Los Angeles Times, Alsup elaborated on her complaints, saying she has not watched Dahmer on Netflix because it could be triggering for her.

“I just feel like it’s going to bring back too many memories of working on it. I don’t want to have these PTSD types of situations,” Alsup said. “The trailer itself gave me PTSD, which is why I ended up writing that tweet and I didn’t think that anybody was going to read.”

Alsup, whose additional credits include Grey’s Anatomy, Inventing Anna and Dear White People, called the production “exhausting” and added, “It was one of the worst shows that I’ve ever worked on. I was always being called someone else’s name, the only other Black girl who looked nothing like me, and I learned the names for 300 background extras.”

Alsup also told the Times that the Dahmer production had no mental health coordinators available, which is one reason she believes the show had such an unsupportive work environment.

Dahmer is now available to stream on Netflix.