‘She-Hulk’ Could Be Headed to the Movies, Despite Finale Joke Indicating Otherwise

You know us Marvel fans: when one thing ends, we immediately want more! Such is the case with She-Hulk: Attorney at Law, which just wrapped up its 9-episode run on Disney+. The question now is, will there be a Season 2? Or will She-Hulk jump straight to the movies? These are actually questions that the show ponders in the finale — and Decider got some answers direct from the brains behind the show.

First of all: don’t take what robot K.E.V.I.N. says about Jen never showing up on the big screen seriously. He’s a fictional robot on a TV show! This is essentially what head writer Jessica Gao told us when asked if what that robot said about Shulkie was true. Specifically when, in the finale, She-Hulk (Tatiana Maslany) hears the robotic MCU overlord say, “See you on the big screen,” she responds hopefully, “Really?” To which K.E.V.I.N. simply says, “No.”

“You got to keep in mind that those jokes were written two and a half years ago, so that was before we were even shooting it,” Gao told Decider. “[K.E.V.I.N.’s comments] were truly meant to just be jokes. Any writer would have made that joke, right? Of course we’re gonna joke about whether or not there has to be another season. Of course we’re going to joke about whether or not she’s going to be in a movie because that’s just naturally what would have happened.”

Gao did originally pitch She-Hulk to Marvel with ideas for future seasons, but ultimately decided to focus on this batch of episodes as second seasons are never guaranteed. “I feel that we told a complete story in this first season and if it ends here I would be very satisfied with what we’ve made,” Gao continued. “And if it goes on, you can definitely see how the show can go on indefinitely.”

As for what the cast and crew would want to see in a second season, series star Tatiana Maslany is just ready for more.

“I was so surprised by this series,” Maslany added. “I think I read two episodes when I signed on. I didn’t know the finale was coming. I didn’t know the wedding episode [was happening], I didn’t know that lodge room confessional was going to happen. So I feel attached to the idea of whatever it is being very surprising and shifting my perspective, shifting the audience’s perspective. I think that’s what the power of She-Hulk is, is to take things and flip them and to point out things that exist and poke holes in them. I think that’s what it’s got to be.”