Anna Faris Claims Director Ivan Reitman “Slapped My Ass” On Turbulent Set Of ‘My Super Ex-Girlfriend’

Anna Faris says director Ivan Reitman treated her inappropriately on the set of their 2006 film My Super Ex-Girlfriend. Faris, who first came forward with allegations against an unnamed director in 2017, revealed Reitman’s identity during a conversation on her podcast today, where she shared further details of his alleged behavior on set.

While speaking with Lena Dunham on the latest episode of Unqualified, Faris said working with Reitman on My Super Ex-Girlfriend was one of her “hardest film experiences,” adding, “I mean, the idea of attempting to make a comedy under this, like, reign of terror, he was a yeller. He would bring down somebody every day…and my first day, it was me,” per Deadline.

Faris said Reitman”slapped [her] ass” and “yelled” at her during her first day of production on the film, which made her “angry, hurt and humiliated.”

Dunham pointed out, “I don’t think you’re the first person who’s reported that,” then asked Faris if anyone on set intervened when Reitman slapped her. Faris replied, “No. It was, like, 2006.”

Reitman, whose credits include the original Ghostbusters, plus Twins, Six Days Seven Nights and No Strings Attached, died in February.

Faris first shared her experience with Reitman in the early days of the #MeToo movement, but never shared his name until today’s podcast episode. She said at the time that a male director had struck her while she was standing on a ladder, per Page Six.

“I was doing a scene where I was on a ladder and I was supposed to be taking books off a shelf and he slapped my ass in front of the crew so hard,” Faris said. “And all I could do was giggle.”

She continued, “I remember looking around and I remember seeing the crew members being like, ‘Wait, what are you going to do about that? That seemed weird.’ And that’s how I dismissed it. I was like, ‘Well, this isn’t a thing. Like, it’s not that big of a deal. Buck up, Faris. Like, just giggle.'”

Faris said the moment made her “feel small,” adding, “He wouldn’t have done that to the lead male.”