Meghan Markle Opens Up About Working as a “Briefcase Girl” on ‘Deal or No Deal’: “I Would Leave With A Pit In My Stomach”

When you think of Meghan Markle, what do you think about? Her eventful royal life with Prince Harry? Her philanthropy? Or her former career as an actor? In this week’s (Oct. 18) episode of her podcast Archetypes, she met with Paris Hilton and Iliza Shlesinger to reflect on her time as a “briefcase girl” on Deal or No Deal, and experience which left her with a “pit in [her] stomach.”

On the Spotify Original podcast, which launched August 23, Markle chats with influential figures about “the labels that try to hold women back.” Previous guests include Jenny Slate, Margaret Cho, and Mindy Kaling. In episode seven, “Breaking Down ‘The Bimbo’”, The Duchess of Sussex opened up about feeling “objectified” while working for the popular game show.

Markle appeared on Deal or No Deal from 2006-2007 for a total of 34 episodes as a briefcase holder. And, as someone who studied acting at Northwestern University, Markle was very aware that this wasn’t the ultimate position she was aiming for. However, for the time being, she said “it was great.”

Markle explained, “I had income, I was part of the union, I had health insurance.”

That said, the then-aspiring actor didn’t approve of the message the show was sending to herself and other women. She said, “Before the tapings of the show, all the girls would line up and there were different stations for having your lashes put on, or your extensions put in, or the padding in your bra. We were even given spray tan vouchers each week because there was a very cookie cutter idea of precisely what we should look like.”

Markle continued, “I was surrounded by smart women on that stage with me. But that wasn’t the focus of why we were there. I would end up leaving with this pit in my stomach knowing that I was so much more than what was being objectified on the stage.”

She concluded her story with a reminder of why she created this podcast: “I didn’t like feeling forced to be all looks and little substance, and that’s how it felt for me at the time — being reduced to this specific archetype.” Following her exit from the game show, Markle went on to cameo in a variety of television shows and movies before landing her role as Rachel Zane in the legal drama Suits.

This isn’t the first difficult conversation Markle has facilitated on her podcast. Last week, she spoke with former Fresh Off the Boat actor Constance Wu about her experience with suicidal ideation and how it is perceived in the Asian American community.

Wu told Markle, “I was so ashamed of my suicide attempt that my parents didn’t even know until a few weeks before I put out a statement. In Asian American families it’s really hard to talk about those kinds of things, so you just kinda don’t.”

In a recent profile with Variety, Markle opened up about why she started her podcast. She said, “Part of what I’m doing with Archetypes is looking at the nuances around the women who come on the show. I’m not a journalist, but I want a candid, real conversation with them.” She emphasized that she aims to speak with “textured, colorful, layered, dynamic women” to deliver stories that “we can all learn from.”