��Days of Our Lives’ Star Alison Sweeney Gushes Over 30 Years of Playing Sami Brady: “I Love My Job”

Where to Stream:

Days of Our Lives

Powered by Reelgood

One of the most notable members of the Days of Our Lives family is coming up on a milestone anniversary. While promoting her new Hallmark movie, A Magical Christmas Village, on The Kelly Clarkson ShowAlison Sweeney reflected on her 30 years of playing Sami Brady on the hit soap opera.

Clarkson started off the conversation during today’s episode by pointing out to Sweeney, “You pretty much find people you like to work with and you stay,” to which the actress responded, “Yeah, I’m loyal.” Adding that it’s a “good” thing because it means “it’s a great environment,” Clarkson went on to ask Sweeney about her thoughts on it being 30 years since she first joined Days of Our Lives, which recently made the jump from NBC to Peacock after 57 years of airing daily on the network.

“I grew up playing this character — playing Sami Brady. I started when I was 16 years old. And I was just this dopey kid and I just loved it,” she said. “I love my job, I love working there. The crew all watched me grow up and get married and have my own kids.”

Sweeney started her gig on the show in 1993 before announcing she was leaving the series in 2014. However, she wasn’t gone long as she returned for the show’s 50th-anniversary episode in 2015 and made several appearances in the years to follow.

“Now I get to go back every once in a while and visit and you do get that sense of just reuniting with everyone again,” she told Clarkson.

Days of Our Lives airs on weekdays on Peacock. Plus, you can watch Sweeney in A Magical Christmas Village when it airs tonight at 8/7c on the Hallmark Channel.