Selena Gomez Triggered With Disney Flashbacks By Uncomfortable Interview in ‘My Mind & Me’: “I Feel Like a Product”

Selena Gomez fans are getting a candid look at the last six years of the performer’s life with her new Apple TV+ documentary My Mind & MeWhile the film includes a variety of powerful subjects present in Gomez’s life, there is one scene that stands out, where the star is triggered by an interview that reminded her of her Disney days.

During her promotional tour for her 2019 single, “Lose You to Love Me,” Gomez, who has worked in acting, singing, fashion, and production, is asked by an unnamed journalist if there are any other hats she would like to try. After explaining that she would like to get into philanthropic work when everything she’s currently doing slows down, the interviewer quickly ends the interview, saying, “Okay, that’s it for me.”

Gomez was visibly annoyed by the woman’s reaction as she said, “Wow, thank you. Appreciate it. Felt like you really understood,” before heading back to her team to slam the interview as the “fucking dumbest thing ever.” She told the room she “can’t do that anymore” and asked, “Do you know how cheap it makes me feel?”

She continued, “She’s asking me questions, like good ones, and then she didn’t even pay attention to what I was saying. I don’t want to do that ever again. I feel like a product.”

After a moment of silence, Gomez said it was making her “angry” and that it made her “feel like Disney.” When someone else in the room pointed out that “it’s a trigger,” the Only Murders in the Building star said, “I’ve spent years, years of my life trying to not be that. I fucking look like a witch with the outfit doing it all, like the wand again,” she said referring back to her time on Wizards of Waverly Placewhere she starred as Alex Russo from 2007 to 2012.

Following the scene, as if nothing happened, she wipes away her tears and steps outside with a smile on her face to greet an onslaught of emotional fans, whose tears she also wipes away.

Selena Gomez: My Mind & Me is currently streaming on Apple TV+.