Dave Chappelle Set To Return As Host Of ‘Saturday Night Live’

Controversial comedian Dave Chappelle is set to return as host of Saturday Night Live on November 12.

SNL confirmed during Saturday’s broadcast that Chappelle will host the episode that will air on NBC just four days after the country votes in federal, state and local midterm elections.

Rap duo Black Star will join Chappelle as the musical guest.

Chappelle has hosted the post-election episode of the show before, first visiting the show after the 2016 election and returning in 2020.

In 2021, Chappelle stirred controversy with his Netflix special The Closer, in which he made homophobic and transphobic comments. Although this created inner turmoil at Netflix, the streamer’s co-CEO and chief content officer Ted Sarandos defended Chappelle’s right to wade into incendiary territory. He later apologized to Netflix employees for his initial comments after they expressed outrage.

Chappelle has not yet apologized for the jokes.

In a video posted in October 2021, Chappelle remained unapologetic about the special saying: “I said what I said.”

“It’s been said in the press that I was invited to speak to the transgender employees of Netflix and I refused. That is not true — if they had invited me I would have accepted it, although I am confused about what we would be speaking about,” Chappelle said in the video. “I said what I said, and boy, I heard what you said. My God, how could I not? You said you want a safe working environment at Netflix. It seems like I’m the only one that can’t go to the office anymore.”