Christina Applegate Was Barefoot at Hollywood Walk of Fame Ceremony Because of Her MS

Ahead of the premiere of Dead to Me’s final season, Christina Applegate was honored at the Hollywood Walk of Fame on Nov. 14, with plenty of support by her side. Applegate was accompanied by her Married with… Children co-stars Katey Sagal and David Faustino, plus Linda Cardellini and Liz Feldman from the Netflix hit.

Per Variety, Applegate’s TV mom spoke at the ceremony prior to the actor receiving the honor, where she told her, “You’re not alone. We’re all here.”

Sagal also accompanied Applegate during her walk to the stage, where she delivered a tearful speech. Applegate, who revealed her multiple sclerosis diagnosis in 2021, walked barefoot up to the podium.

During her speech, Applegate expressed love and gratitude for her daughter, saying, “The most important person in this world is my daughter. You are so much more than even you know. You are so beautiful and kind and smart and interesting.”

She added, “I’m blessed every day that I get to wake up and take you to school…thank you for standing by me through all of this,” before closing out her speech by telling her fans, “I love you [all] so much.”

The event marked the Emmy winner’s first public appearance since announcing her MS diagnosis. She attended the ceremony barefoot, later specifying on Twitter that it was because shoes tend to cause discomfort for those with the disease: “So today I was me. Barefoot,” she shared.

Earlier this month, Applegate spoke with The New York Times about her diagnosis, telling the outlet she had ignored the warning signs of her disease while filming the debut season of Dead To Me. She acknowledged that she first recognized her symptoms while filming a dance number for the season, but continued to push herself when she began to feel “off balance” during the scene.

“I wish I had paid attention. But who was I to know?” she said.

Dead to Me Season 3 premieres November 17 on Netflix.