Anya Taylor-Joy Recalls Awkwardly Meeting Sarah Jessica Parker on ‘The Drew Barrymore Show’: “It Was a Bad Moment For Me”

Anya Taylor-Joy got to live out our dream of meeting Sarah Jessica Parker and thanking her for all that Sex and the City‘s Carrie Bradshaw has inspired. Unfortunately, the experience seemed more awkward than sweet as the actress detailed the “really bad moment” on today’s episode of The Drew Barrymore Show.

Host Drew Barrymore caught wind of the meeting before today’s episode, telling the Queen’s Gambit star, “As a girl, I’m totally in love with you. I heard you like raves, you like Sex and the City. You’re cool, you’re fun. Age transcends. I just want to hang out with you and bring back dance parties,” before asking, “Is it true you went up to Sarah Jessica Parker and you were like, ‘I am watching you and Big?'” referring to Carrie’s partner.

Taylor-Joy, who was on the daytime talk show to promote her new movie The Menucringed at the memory, revealing that “it was a really bad moment” for her.

“I saw her and I ran up and I was going through a really bad breakup and I was like, ‘Hey, I just have to tell you, like, I’ve been watching you and Big and it’s giving me a lot of hope,'” she told Barrymore. “And she was like, ‘Oh, that you’ll get back together?’ And I was like, ‘No. That I will survive. That I can like move on from this and that it’ll be OK.'”

And just like that … it all went downhill.

According to Taylor-Joy’s recollection of the story, Parker uncomfortably responded, “OK, that’s, I’m gonna get in my car now.”

As we all remember, Carrie and Big (Chris Noth) were on-and-off throughout all six seasons of Sex and the City before finally getting married in the first movie. Before sexual misconduct allegations against Noth were revealed in 2021, his character was brought back for the HBO Max revival And Just Like That, but was ultimately killed off in the first episode.

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays at 9:30 a.m. ET on CBS.