Lizzy Savetsky Cites “Antisemitic Attacks” for ‘The Real Housewives of New York City’ Departure

Lizzy Savetsky has left the reboot of The Real Housewives of New York City before production even wrapped, citing “antisemitic attacks” as her reason for exiting.

Last month, Real Housewives executive producer Andy Cohen announced that the long-running Bravo series would be welcoming seven fresh faces for Season 14, with Savetsky among them.

But just weeks later, Savetsky announced her departure on Instagram, writing in a Nov. 16 post, “I will not be continuing on the Real Housewives of NYC. As a proud Jewish woman, I thought participating in this series would be a great chance to represent people like me and share my experience.”

Savetsky continued, “Unfortunately, from the time of my announcement in the cast, I was on the receiving end of a torrent of antisemitic attacks. As this continued, I realized this path was no longer right for me and my family.”

The reality star added that she’s “looking forward to [her] next chapter.”

 

Variety confirmed her departure, with a Bravo spokesperson telling the outlet, “After thoughtful consideration and discussion with Lizzy, we have reached the mutual conclusion that Lizzy will not be a cast member on RHONY.

The new series has already begun filming, according to Variety, but Savetsky has not filmed much content and will not be included in the final cut.

Savetsky prides herself as a “Proud Jew & Zionist” and mother-of-three on Instagram, and plays “matchmaker” on the weekly IGTV series, Bashert by Lizzy, where she helps Jewish singles find love. She has long used her platform to speak up against antisemitism, and recently criticized Kanye West for his antisemitic remarks.

In an Oct. 25 post, Savetsky praised Adidas for terminating their partnership with the rapper, calling it the decision a “victory.” In the same post, she claimed to have received antisemitic threats.

“Over two weeks ago, when I first asked Kanye to remove his initial post that carried antisemitic tropes, I received threats to my life from his devoted followers, simply because I am JEWISH,” she wrote. “I take these threats seriously. The Holocaust started with similar propaganda in the form of words! NEVER AGAIN IS NOW!”

With Savetsky gone, the new RHONY reboot has been whittled down to six stars. The reality series will now feature previously announced cast members Jessel Taank, Ubah Hassan, Jenna Lyons, Erin Dana Lichy, Brynn Whitfield and Sai De Silva.