Jingle Binge

Sorry GAC, Lacey Chabert Isn’t Leaving Hallmark Anytime Soon

Sorry, Great American Family, Lacey Chabert doesn’t see herself gravitating to your network anytime soon. The Mean Girls actor told Vulture that she doesn’t see herself leaving Hallmark anytime soon, calling herself a “lifer.”

Over the years, Chabert has starred in over 30 Hallmark movies, releasing five new titles, this year alone. She has also served as a co-writer and executive producer for her projects.

Recently, Great American Family – also known as GAC – landed itself in hot water after homophobic remarks from actor and executive Candace Cameron Bure, who previously worked for Hallmark.

While the two family-oriented networks appear to be each other’s greatest competitors, Decider’s Brett White discovered that GAC isn’t much of a threat, concluding that first, they’d have to overtake Lifetime.

Chabert weighed in on this war between networks, admitting that she doesn’t have much to say about either competitors. When asked about Lifetime, she got in a quick jibe, telling Vulture, “I can’t compare the two well because I don’t watch Lifetime very much.”

She went on to say, “From my perspective and from what I hear from fans, it all goes back to the values and the feeling of the card company itself. It’s something that, quite literally, has brought people together for so many years.”

When asked about the Hallmark actors who have been poached by GAC, she remained diplomatic as well. “You know what, I wish everybody the best. I really can’t comment on it further other than I care about everybody involved,” she said.

Chabert also refused to disclose whether GAC offered her a deal, expressing, “I’m with Hallmark, and I work for them. I’m so sorry, but I’ll just have to leave it at that.”

However, when it came to Bure’s criticism of Hallmark being “a completely different network than when I started” after a leadership changing, notably in reference to their inclusion of same-sex and interracial relationships, Chabert defended the network. She said, “Any shift I’ve felt has been embracing our creative ideas.”

Chabert added, “I’ll never abandon what Hallmark means for me, which is that everything is centered around the heart. I don’t think there are any plans for that to change anytime soon.”

Earlier in the interview, she opened up about her draw to Hallmark’s programming, telling Vulture, “With Hallmark, I play characters that are more like who I am in real life than anywhere else. My values are my faith and my family, and I get to portray that.”

Once again, Hallmark comes out on top.