Al Roker’s ‘Today’ Show Return Date Set Following Hospitalization

The time has finally come! Al Roker is set to return to The Today Show on Friday (Jan. 6) after being hospitalized in November for health issues, including blood clots.

During today’s broadcast of the popular morning show, co-anchor Hoda Kotb shared a Roker update with viewers, telling them, “He’ll be right here in Studio 1A. This is his place. He’ll be in his seat right where he belongs,” per Deadline.

Roker, who is 68 years old, last appeared on the show on Friday, Nov. 4, and has been absent since, leading him to miss the annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade for the first time in 27 years. He addressed his absence two weeks later, writing on social media that he is “on the way to recovery” after fans speculated he was sick.

He added, “So many of you have been thoughtfully asking where I’ve been. Last week I was admitted to the hospital with a blood clot in my leg which sent some clots into my lungs.”

On Thanksgiving, the anchor shared that he had been discharged from the hospital and was “thankful” to spend the holiday with his family, however, he was rushed back to the hospital the next day. He was released again on Dec. 8.

Deadline also reports that Roker appeared virtually on Today last month, saying, “I’m not going to deny it. This has been the hardest one yet, and you know I’ve had my share of surgeries.”

Since then, he has been keeping his followers updated on social media, where he has been posting pictures of his home-cooked meals and his family. “I made dinner last night. I just feel like this is going to be a little bit of a slog, but there are a lot of people who have to deal with a lot more with a lot fewer resources,” he said during his virtual appearance. “I’m very fortunate and very blessed to be able to have the resources I’ve had.”

The talk show also paid him a surprise visit on Dec. 14 with carolers, singing “Jingle Bells” to the anchor from a safe distance. Roker shared a clip of the event on social media with the caption, “I am still blown away by the love my family at @todayshow showed us this week.”

Co-anchor Savannah Guthrie commented on Roker’s post, “You are loved beyond.”

Roker also recently honored the late Today anchor, Barbara Walters, by reposting two images from Debra Roberts on Instagram. He wrote, “When your mentor takes the time to be there for the big moments in your life, it leaves a big impression.”

Many fans are anticipating Roker’s arrival on Friday, us included! Welcome back, Roker.

The Today Show airs weekdays at 7 a.m. ET.