Kristin Chenoweth Regrets Not Suing CBS After ‘The Good Wife’ Injury “Practically Killed” Her

More than a decade after Kristin Chenoweth sustained life-threatening injuries while filming the CBS drama The Good Wifethe actress revealed that she regrets not taking legal action.

Back in 2012, Chenoweth was set to be a recurring character in the series. However, after she was struck with lighting equipment and badly injured, she exited the role.

“I didn’t do it out of fear and anxiety. So don’t ever let fear rule your life,” she said of suing the network during Monday night’s (Jan. 16) taping of Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen, where she was promoting her new book, I’m No Philosopher, But I Got Thoughts.

When Cohen asked if she regretted the decision not to press charges, Chenoweth nodded before adding, “I have longstanding injuries from that. I wish I had listened to my dad. He said, ‘You’re gonna want to do this.’ And we’re not the suing family, but when you’re practically killed…”

The Broadway star then detailed exactly what happened that caused her injury.

“I heard a flagpole sound. I literally heard, ‘We’re losing the light.’ And I heard, ‘Action,’ and I woke up at Bellevue [Hospital],” she said. “It hit me in the face and it threw me into the curb, seven-inch skull fracture, hairline [fracture] and teeth and ribs.”

Thankfully, there was one unlikely hero Chenoweth credits for saving her life — none other than her hair extensions.

“My hair extensions made the hairline fracture go together,” she explained. “My doctor said, ‘What are these metal things?’ And I said, ‘They’re hair extensions.’ And he said, ‘They saved your life.’”

She went on to joke, “Anybody who wants to get hair extensions should, for your health.” And to that we say: in Kristin Chenoweth we trust.

Watch What Happens Live airs Sunday through Thursday at 10/9c on Bravo.