Drew Barrymore and Corey Feldman Reminisce About Their First Date, Back When They Were Tweens in the ‘80s: “It Was Adorable”

Drew Barrymore sat down with a former childhood flame during Wednesday’s (Jan. 18) episode of The Drew Barrymore ShowWhile speaking with legendary actor Corey Feldman, she and her longtime friend reminisced about their “adorable” first date with each other.

Feldman, who rose to fame with iconic ’80s movies like Stand By Me and The Lost Boys, described what he remembers about his first date with the talk show host.

“I get a call one day. My grandmother says, ‘We got a call from Steven [Spielberg’s] office and the little girl from ET wants to meet you because she’s got a crush on you,'” he shared.

Feldman explained that he and Barrymore were in their early tween years when Barrymore’s mother set them up on a “playdate” where they went to the movie theater in California. Classic, for a couple of actors.

“It was so cute. I remember taking you to the movies. I remember exactly what movie theater it was,” he said. “We parked at the Gelson’s and we walked across the street and you put your little hand up for me to hold and I hold your hand and we walk across the street. I don’t remember what movie we saw.”

While Barrymore said she and everyone else had the “biggest” crush on the actor, he said he was “very insecure” during his heyday.

“That’s what made me love you because I loved the idea of you and I loved you as an actor and a human,” Barrymore gushed. “But getting to know you, that’s what I was always drawn to, was your lack of ego.”

The duo said it wasn’t until years later that they “properly dated.” They even reflected on their notorious Academy Awards look, where Barrymore said she wore a $65 cotton Betsey Johnson dress and Feldman wore a “safety pin jacket” with Ray-Ban sunglasses.

“We were just a great little, cute little item for the three months we lasted,” Feldman joked. “But it was adorable.”

The Drew Barrymore Show airs on weekdays on CBS. You can check the website for local airtimes.