Whoopi Goldberg Warns Co-Hosts Not to Bother Her After Hours on ‘The View’: “There Is Life After the Gig”

Whoopi Goldberg is doubling down on her “old fashioned” phone habits as she advised her fellow View co-hosts against bothering her after work hours. The moderator, who revealed she doesn’t look at her phone, has no time for the current texting culture.

The conversation was sparked by a Hot Topics segment about a viral tweet in which a father left his family group chat because he couldn’t keep up with everything going on in it. While Alyssa Farah Griffin declared herself the Meme Queen and Sunny Hostin said texting is “how we connect with each other now,” Goldberg blatantly replied, “I do not.”

A shocked Hostin called out, “Whoopi!” while Griffin joked, “There’s a reason why Whoopi’s not on the host chain.”

When Hostin pointed out, “That’s why you don’t respond to any of my text messages,” Goldberg said, “I don’t look. If you want me, you call me at my house.”

“And not after 7 p.m.,” Griffin added to which the moderator said, “No! Because, I mean, you know, there is life after the gig. And so you’re working and I don’t have time really to chit-chat because I’m busy.”

Meanwhile, Ana Navarro noted that Goldberg had no problem FaceTiming everyone while she and Sara Haines were attending a drag show in Miami Beach last weekend. However, Goldberg refuted the claims that she happily answered the call and told her side of the story.

“My business partner was with them in Miami and the phone rang and it was him. And I saw his name and I think, ‘If he’s calling me on a Sunday, something’s wrong,’” she said. “That’s why I’ll never pick up the phone for his behind again.”

Goldberg, who admitted that she couldn’t stop smiling while being introduced to a drag queen, added, “It was wonderful and it was good to see everybody. But I was like, no, you know, weekends — I know I’m crazy and old fashioned but weekends, I don’t care.”

The only time she will answer the phone? If it’s an emergency.

“If it’s something really bad then I’ll do it but I find that people want you to respond instantly. If you’re in the bathroom, that’s not gonna happen,” Goldberg told the panel. “Keep it in mind.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.